Seriously

The theme of this month’s My Paper Pumpkin from Stampin’ Up! is “Seriously”. I swear, it is the most appropriate for me this month.

I took a little bit of time off. Next time, I should coordinate with my neighbor. They have construction going on in the back of their house. Imagine, saws and concrete do not make for a quiet vacation.

EEEEEEEKKKKKKKK.

So, I decided to make one of the cards from this month’s kit to vent my feelings. It took about 10 minutes to make; it’s geared toward 20 minutes. I think I was obsessing a little too much over the stamping and the linen thread. But, seriously (!), it’s quite simple, even though there are a lot of details on there.

SeriouslyPumpkinCard

Supplies: April 2013 My Paper Pumpkin kit, Stampin’ Dimensionals, Glue dots, Tombow Mono Multi glue

I decided to wrap the thread around just the base of the decorative die cuts instead of the whole card front. Otherwise, I thought it would just make the whole thing too heavy. I left the backing on the piece, so that it didn’t stick everywhere. (I suppose you could leave it sticky; that would help the thread from moving. Not that it does.)

After tying down the button, I noticed it flopped around a bit. I added a glue dot behind the button, and now it is fine. Do you like how an item from the Spring catalog was incorporated into the kit? I like that. Means I can play with the item, and get more later if I wanted. Made for a cool effect when I opened my kit, too. When the packet of thread and buttons fell out, it sounded like coins falling out of my box.

There are little strips in the kit to add the second part of the greeting. I decided to leave those off when I made this card. I thought the card would work great as a “how are things?” or “what’s the latest gossip?” card. 🙂

Leave a Reply

