A Sexy Button

As I was putting the button on this card, I said to myself, “Ooo! That’s sexy!”

Can you call a button sexy? What does that mean, really? Hopefully, no one thinks this post is intended to be risque!

In this case, I guess I meant that the button, as the finishing touch, really did something for the card. It felt done, finished. I didn’t have to keep adding things!

BorderingRomanceLaceButton

Stamp set: Bordering on Romance

Ink: StazOn Jet Black, Primrose Petals, Gumball Green

Paper: Sahara Sand (retired textured), Primrose Petals Core’dinations, Pool Party, Shimmer White

Accessories: Paper Doilies (Spring catalog), Artisan Embellishment Kit (Spring catalog), Pink Pirouette 3/8″ taffeta ribbon, Honeycomb textured impressions folder (Spring catalog), Ovals collection framelits (Spring catalog), Delicate Doilies large sizzlits, Aqua painters

See, the Primrose Petals button really makes the card. It adds a nice touch of color to the lower right corner, to balance the strip of Primrose Petals Core’dinations cardstock on the left, as well as the knot of ribbon on the top left. (I tried using a Pool Party button from the same kit, but it didn’t have the same effect.) Plus, I think the square pattern on the button adds a bit of theme contrast, as well.

I used the retired textured version of Sahara Sand cardstock for the card base, because I felt that the it was too plain otherwise. (And I didn’t want to texturize or stamp the background … not sure why. Or, find DSP.)

I embossed Primrose Petals Core’dinations cardstock with the Honeycomb embossing folder, and cut out two rows of the honeycombs. I wanted a strip with something other than a straight edge, and I’m still searching for cool ways to use this folder. I added a knot of ribbon to one end to break up the line from top-to-bottom of the card. (And, why is that? I put a strip, but want to break up the visual effect. Weird! But, I like it! Does that mean I’m weird? Okay, you don’t have to answer that question.)

I started with just the paper doily under the stamped oval, but I felt that some contrast was needed between the layers. I used the largest doily from the Delicate Doilies L Sizzlits, but left the bits of the design intact. Somehow I liked it better with subtle texture, instead of more holes like the doily underneath.

I used one of the Ovals framelits for the stamped image because 1) I had them and 2) we don’t have a circle set. Yet. (I’m hoping, anyway.) I had fun watercoloring the flowers. Haven’t colored in a while, and wanted to get back into it again.

Leave a Reply

