A Little Vintage

This was a card that was built element by element. I started with the background and built the card up from there. I don’t think it’s based on a specific sketch…you know how I like to go to Mojo Monday for inspiration.

PoolPartyDoily

Stamp set: Sassy Salutations

Ink: Midnight Muse

Paper: Naturals White, Pool Party Core’dinations (Spring catalog), Summer Starfruit

Accessories: Basic Gray Two-tone ribbon (Spring catalog), Paper doily (Spring catalog), Lacy Brocade embossing folder (carryover), Vintage brad, Clear Stampin’ emboss powder, Apothecary Accents framelits, Stampin’ dimensionals

So, as I said, I started with the background. I wanted to see how well the new (to me) Core’dinations paper will emboss. I didn’t sand it, but the natural breakage of the paper fibers give it a nice weathered look.

Then, I pulled out the new ribbon. I bought the ribbon without knowing how I was going to use it. Sometimes you just have to do that! I knew I liked Basic Gray together with Pool Party, and the drape of the ribbon went well with the embossing.

Now, I needed something to anchor the ribbon to the card. I first thought of the Vintage clear buttons, but chose the brad instead. It has a lower profile; it doesn’t look like it’s leaping off the card, and it’s easier to mail if it ever makes it there. I made sure I chose the brad with the white all over, to keep with the cool tones of the other colors.

The new doilies from the Spring catalog give a feminine touch, as well as a vintage look. I thought it would go well with this card. That was the next layer chosen.

Finally, I added in some color with Midnight Muse stamping on Summer Starfruit. Those two colors pair well together, and Pool Party and Midnight Muse go together, too.

It may be hard to see, but the sentiment has some heat embossing. Since the newer ink pads add more ink to your stamp, in theory there will be more ink to emboss with even with a Classic ink pad. I wanted to try out the theory; it works but you’d have to be able to accept a finish that isn’t completely smooth. The ink doesn’t stay wet THAT long, so you won’t get the full coverage as you would with VersaMark or craft ink. It’s okay though. It’s still in keeping with the vintage look I was going for.

Oh, the last step was to pick out a card base, but that was pretty easy: Naturals White.

The only part I obsessed over was where to put the sentiment in relation to all of the other elements… But I make sure I limit these “obsessions” to about 5 minutes or less. 🙂

Leave a Reply

