February Newsletter Project

This is the project from this month’s newsletter.

For those of you waiting for a new project, sorry it took so long. I’ve been fighting bad headaches recently and it’s so hard to concentrate enough to be crafty! I do have some cards that I’ve managed to scrape together, so hopefully I’ll get them posted soon.

The card I’m going to show you was inspired by another Mojo Monday sketch. I actually saw someone else’s card from a thread on Splitcoast way before I managed to go back to Mojo Monday to check out the sketches (I think I didn’t go there for most of January, due to the headaches). But, you know, I didn’t want to just copy that person’s card. I actually sat and looked at the sketch itself to see what it would inspire. Hope you like the result!

Mojo277_SmartyPants

Stamps: Patterned Occasions (SAB)

Ink: Midnight Muse (pad and marker), Whisper White craft

Paper: Naturals White, Whisper White, Bashful Blue, Midnight Muse, Daffodil Delight, Neutrals Patterns DSP Stack

Accessories: 7/8″ scallop circle punch (Spring catalog), Itty Bitty buttons, White Baker’s twine, Metallic brads, Essentials Paper-piercing pack, Stampin’ dimensionals

The card is based on Mojo Monday sketch 277. The card I saw on Splitcoast had the stamped (coffee cup) image on the right with some small punched pieces. I decided I wanted the smarty pants stamp and use brads as the three accents. I could turn it into a panel that looked like it came from jeans! (Or, so I thought anyway.)

I rubbed the Midnight Muse cardstock with some Whisper White craft ink, just to make the edges more visible, and look like the material faded just a bit. I added faux stitching, piercing with the Essentials Paper-piercing pack and adding lines with my Midnight Muse marker. I turned up about 1/2″ of the cardstock and tacked it down with some brads. Not really sure what part of your pants these are supposed to be, but I liked the look.

I used the striped pattern in Basic Gray from the patterns DSP stack for the background, since I thought it tied in with the fabric theme. I guess I could have used embossing, but this was quicker. Plus, I have so many pieces left of that stack! 🙂

After I put the elements all together (the stamped image, the “fabric panel”, and the background), it seemed so monochromatic. That’s when I decided I needed a little accent (which is called for in the sketch after all). I picked a Daffodil Delight piece, punched with the new 7/8″ scallop circle punch from the Spring catalog. I just needed something small, and the others we have were just a bit on the big side. I like the look of “fringing” the scallops, so I did it again. I added a circle Itty Bitty button in the center just for completeness (and buttons still tie into the theme). This flower actually reminds me of patches on my pants as a kid. ‘Cuz, you know, the pants remind me of bell-bottoms and I was just a kid in that era. 🙂

I also have to mention that I’m super AR when it comes out to even coverage of stamped images. You may notice that this particular is not completely even. But, that’s okay! I decided that for this card, it gives it the look of fabric. I know, I’m just weird! 🙂

Leave a Reply

