Demonstrator Swap for March

It’s been a while since we’ve gotten together as a group… it’s too bad that everyone’s so busy! There were only 5 of us, including one new edition to our group. We usually have swaps pre-made, but this time we did it as a shoebox swap. A few of us got the “where are you?” calls/text messages at the end of the night because we got carried away!

So, here’s my contribution. I was looking for a way to use the new doilies, as well as use a layout that I wanted to use.

MarvelousDoilyPanel

Stamp set: Bloomin’ Marvelous (SAB)

Ink: Island Indigo, Lucky Limeade

Paper: Naturals Ivory, Lucky Limeade, Whisper White, Calypso Coral, So Saffron, Summer Smooches DSP, Tea for Two DSP

Accessories: Paper Doilies (Spring catalog), 1-1/4″ scallop circle punch, Boho Blossoms punch, Large Rhinestones (Spring catalog), 3″ circle Originals die, Old Olive organdy ribbon (Spring catalog), Vine Street textured impressions folder (SAB)

Wow, doesn’t feel like that much stuff, does it? 🙂

Not much to say about this one, I think everything should be pretty straight forward. I will have to say, though, that you don’t have to worry too much about stamping the sentiment straight with the DSP accent on the circle. I found that you can adjust slightly how you attach the ribbon (doesn’t exactly have to line up with the DSP line), to make the sentiment look straight. Of course, there’s only so much you can correct…

I like the look of the flower with each scallop snipped partway to the center. I “fluffed” each petal after I snipped. Gives it a bit of dimension. I found that just having the center punched piece was not enough.

The doilies really like to stick to each other in the package. Must be how they’re die cut. I thought I had everything done, and I realized my sample had two doilies stuck together, with my stamped panel glued to just the top doily. Of course that means that I didn’t really have a stamped piece attached to the card. Bonus! I had another sample begging to be made! I opted for a shaped card, just to be different:

MarvelousDoilyAlt

I took the opportunity to make the flower with a different color combo, too.

Leave a Reply

