Valentine Overboard

In this case, I didn’t throw my card overboard, I just got carried away! Have you ever done that? Just kept adding to your card, because you thought it needed something more? Or you could add another detail?

It’s not THAT bad, really.

I know this is a Valentine’s Day card, but I have to show it to you now!!! It uses a stamp that is available only until January 21 (that’s tomorrow!). I’m sure you would be upset with me if I didn’t tell you about it before it was too late. I bought these to make my office treats this year. I’m not sure what to do about that yet, but I just had to make this card.

FlipValentine

Stamp set: Happy Valentine Heart (limited-edition)

Ink: Primrose Petals

Paper: Primrose Petals Core’dinations (Spring catalog), Raspberry Ripple, Very Vanilla, Pink Pirouette, First Edition Specialty DSP

Accessories: Hearts collection framelits, Scallop Heart of Hearts embosslits, Tasteful Trim Bigz XL die, Owl Builder punch, Pink Pirouette/Rose Red two-tone ribbon (Spring catalog)

See!?! It’s actually not too over-the-top, just more than I usually use.

Just so you can see how it opens; there are enough details that the inside doesn’t look too blah.

FlipValentineOpen

Do you see the ribbon? I wasn’t convinced about this at first… wide ribbon, how does it tie? Is it soft? Well… As you can see, it ties just fine! In fact, a little easier than the wide striped ribbon that retired at the end of the last catalog. Gives the card just a bit of fancy-ness, I think. I heard that the ends may unravel easily, but I found that if I cut on a bias (angle), it doesn’t unravel much. Although, it IS a bit wide, so it’s good for when you want an accent to fill space. For my card, it added a detail on the left of my flip card with just one item (the ribbon). Otherwise, I would have been tempted to use DSP, skinny ribbon, and maybe a border punch.

Everytime I look at that ribbon, I get all giggly. I don’t know why… 🙂

I used the Big Shot and the Hearts collection framelits (second smallest heart) to make the flip card. It’s quite easy. Score the card front in half. Open up card … very important, or you’ll cut into the back of your card, too. Place the framelit on the scoreline, matching middle of framelit with the scoreline. Place your top cutting plate so that one of the edges is right on the score line, and the rest of the plate is hanging off the edge of the card front (NOT toward the card back). Run this sandwich through your Big Shot and you’ll get just half of the heart cut!

If you may need visuals for this … let me know and I can take pics and post a quick tutorial. I’m sure someone make a video out there, too, but I don’t have one bookmarked. I can even do a home party out of this technique for you!

The border on the right side of the card is made of three strips cut from the same part of the Tasteful Trim die (shameful, that this is the first time I’ve used this die… and it’s been sitting in my stash for at least 6 months? Or was it 9 months?). I put two pieces, cut from Raspberry Ripple, next to each other, centers about 1/2″ apart. I put the PInk Pirouette piece on top. Gives the Pink Pirouette piece a nice border. The border felt a bit empty, so I punched hearts out of Raspberry Ripple, using the Owl builder punch, and placed one in each scallop. It’s a Valentine’s card, after all, so the more hearts, the  more love you spread, right?

Leave a Reply

