January Newsletter Project

Here is the project included in this month’s newsletter. I wanted to use items from the new Spring Catalog that went live this morning. Of course, the first thing I wanted to use is the new Honeycomb embossing folder. Yeah! But, they made it “difficult”; I had to look through my existing stamp sets for a bee to use. Think of how much money Stampin’ Up! would make if they also released a bee set along with the folder. (There IS a stamp set in the Spring catalog with a bee, called Collage Curios, but that’s tucked far away on a different page … with the new bottlecaps. Just sayin’…) Plus, we need cool/fun bee sentiments!!!

HoneycombBeHappy

Stamp set: Pursuit of Happiness, Every Little Bit

Ink: Basic Black, Calypso Coral, Daffodil Delight marker

Paper: Naturals Ivory (card base), So Saffron, Whisper White, Calypso Coral, Tea for Two DSP (Spring catalog)

Accessories: Honeycomb textured impressions folder (Spring catalog), Basic Black polka-dot scallop ribbon, 1-1/4″ scallop circle punch (carryover), 1″ circle punch, Labels collection framelits, Stampin’ dimensionals

This is when I wish I had a tiny bee image so I could have replaced the word “be” in the sentiment. Haha! That’s partly why I picked this particular sentiment, by the way. That, and I think it’s a fun sentiment anyway.

The embossed piece is actually a separate layer adhered to the card base. It’s a partial piece, so I didn’t have to glue the DSP piece over embossing (doesn’t glue well, you know!). I would have preferred to emboss the card base itself, but I wasn’t sure if I would have been able to fit the cardstock in the Big Shot if I partially embossed. Does that make ANY sense? Usually, to partially emboss, I let part of the cardstock extend out of the folder. The folder is about 4-1/2″ wide, and the opening of the Big Shot is just over 6″, so I didn’t think it would all fit: I would have had about 2″ sticking out, which means I would have been trying to emboss something 6-1/2″ wide.

Everything else was pretty straightforward. I like how the images from Every Little Bit fit in the smaller scallop circle punch. By the way, it’s still available! There’s a carryover page at the back of the Spring catalog, and this is one of the items. Oh, and of course, there’s a new SMALLER coordinateing scallop circle punch.

Oh, and I have to mention, I just love the variety of the images in the Every Little Bit stamp set. I got this as an incentive set from Stampin’ Up!, and I’m pretty happy I did.

1 Comment

  1. Very cute! I love the sentiment.

Leave a Reply

