Another Rainy Day Card

Both a card made on a day that was rainy, and a card depicting a rainy day! (Gotta love those two-fers!)

I’m pretty glad that we didn’t lose electricity during these storms. It was a bit cold (for our part of the country), and would have sucked to not have lights and heat. It was dry on Christmas Eve, when we had to be out travelling, and waited until later on Christmas day to start up again. Thankful for that, because I had to go between buildings for work, and was able to go out when it was still dry.

Happy, too, to be driving my trusty little car. But, that’s a story for another day.

Back to the card: I was thinking, let’s really create one for the storm!

RainyDay

Stamp set: Spring Occasions (Convention/Memento Mall set)

Ink: Basic Black, Real Red marker, Whisper White craft

Paper: Marina Mist, Basic Gray, Daffodil Delight, Tempting Turquoise, Whisper White, Comfort Cafe DSP

Accessories: Cloud textured impressions folder (Spring catalog), Apothecary Accents framelits, 1-3/4″ scallop circle punch, 1-3/8″ circle punch, 1-1/4″ circle punch, Vintage faceted buttons, White baker’s twine

Ka-boom!

I used the Comfort Cafe paper because of the zig-zags. Lightning strikes! You could also imagine that the pattern is the rain coming down.

I used Whisper White craft ink to lightly pick out the clouds from the cardstock. It is supposed to be a storm, so I didn’t worry too much if it was subtle. Again, any smudges just makes the clouds look fluffier.

I used a Marina Mist card base. I was thinking of using Bashful Blue instead, since Marina Mist made the card “look” dark. But the Bashful Blue was TOO light, almost clashing with the rest of the card. Okay, Marina Mist it is.

On the other hand, having the umbrella and scallop circle as bright colors really works well. It’s a bright spot to the card (as an umbrella would be during a storm). I put a small Vintage faceted button as an accent. Made me think of a large rain drop. Want to see it close up?

RainyDay_Closeup

Okay, I have to apologize for using a stamp set that is not available for sale… This is part of one of the sets sold at Convention this year. I *think* they are intended for us to use as incentive sets. Heck, I wanted them for my own use! I’ll bet they already had the Cloud embossing folder already in development… because strangely enough, most of the stamps in this set (there are seven images) go well with the embossing folder. I hope you don’t mind … this stamp set may come out occasionally during the next few months, to go along with this folder. 🙂

Edited 12/30/12 6PM: I was just browsing through demonstrator ordering, and it appears that demonstrators CAN still order this stamp set (not a publicly available set). So, be nice to your demonstrator and maybe you can get one of these stamp sets, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

