It Could Have Been Worse

That’s what I was thinking in the past week. We had a bunch of storms blow through last weekend and after Christmas.

During one particularly strong storm, we sat listening to the rain beating down on the house. I was quite thankful that it’s not cold enough here for it to be SNOW instead. Can you imagine?!? Okay, it would be kinda cool (COLD) at first. But think of this: California drivers can’t even drive in the rain! Can you imagine them on ice/snow? (Okay, if you’ve been to Tahoe, you can!)

So, it got me motivated to tinkering with an idea I had to use a new item from the upcoming Spring Catalog.

CloudyBashfulBlue_CASESpring

Stamp set: Every Little Bit

Ink: Basic Black, Basic Gray, Tempting Turquoise marker, Frost White shimmer ink, Signo white gel pen

Paper: Island Indigo, Bashful Blue, Whisper White, Basic Gray, Summer Smooches DSP

Accessories: Cloud textured impressions folder (Spring catalog), Labels framelits, 1-1/4″ scallop circle punch, 1″ circle punch, Sponge daubers

I used a layout similar to a card on the same page as the Cloud embossing folder, too. I condensed the two background layers into one, and used the white gel pen for the border instead of embossing vellum.

So, what do you think? I love the folder, just figuring out how best to use it. I first sponged Frost White shimmer ink on the embossed clouds. Then, I rubbed on some Basic Gray along the bottoms. Tried to give it the look of storm clouds without being too dark. I got smudges of Basic Gray ink on the background. It does bother me in some respects, but I decided to go with it, since it sort of goes with the theme of storm clouds.

I picked this particular piece of DSP because of the shapes. They look like raindrops, even though they are not going in the same direction. Huh. Kinda like that storm we had! Plus, the DSP is colorful, which adds a little ooph to an otherwise monochromatic card.

Leave a Reply

