Merry Christmas

Season’s Greetings, everyone!

(And, if you’re reading this on Christmas day, well, hopefully you’re in your jammies.)

I made this card as a modification to Mojo Monday sketch 271.

XmasCard2012Twine

Stamp set: For the Birds

Ink: Early Espresso Classic stampin’ pad; Cherry Cobbler, Baja Breeze, Pumpkin Pie, Pink Pirouette, Sahara Sand markers

Paper: Crumb Cake, Cherry Cobber, Chocolate Chip, Very Vanilla, Be of Good Cheer DSP

Accessories: Window Frames framelits (Holiday catalog), Cherry Cobbler baker’s twine, Scallop edge punch

Finally! A stamped card with a skating theme! The only thing more perfect would have been a penguin. 🙂

This was the original version I wanted to make, with the baker’s twine. But then, I couldn’t find the baker’s twine. So, I decided to substitute with Real Red 1/8″ taffeta ribbon. Wouldn’t you know, I didn’t have enough ribbon for all of the cards I had to make, so ended up making some with the baker’s twine anyway (which showed up partway through this process, thank goodness!).

XmasCard2012Ribbon

To make the Cherry Cobbler panel, I die-cut cardstock so that I only had one curve from the Window Frames framelits (second to largest size). I think the cardstock piece I started with was about 3-1/16″ wide by 3-3/4″ long. I lined up the width in two adjoining corners, lined up the side edges with the remaining corners, and secured the cardstock to the framelit with blue painter’s tape. After running through the Big Shot, the cardstock piece is a square (3-1/16″) plus the one curve. You could also cut out the entire shape and lop off the unused edges, but I thought this was more efficient use of cardstock (and maybe slower).

For the inside of the card, I pulled together images from three different stamp sets:

XmasCard2012_Open

So cute! I love how the ornament mirrors the ornament the bird is holding on the front of the card. And, the little holly stamp adds a nice, festive touch to the inside sentiment.

Leave a Reply

