Owl Occasion, Part 2

I mentioned that I had a bunch of owls from Owl Occasion, waiting to be turned into cards. Well, today’s card is my attempt to make him festive.

OwlWinter_Mojo232

Stamp set: Owl Occasions (Holiday catalog)

Ink: Early Espresso, Soft Suede, Pumpkin Pie marker, Real Red

Paper: Bashful Blue, Pacific Point, Naturals Ivory, Whisper White, Very Vanilla, Orchard Harvest DSP (Holiday catalog)

Accessories: Scallop Squares Duo Bigz die, Northern Flurry textured impressions folder, Striped Satin ribbon (Holiday catalog), Stampin’ dimensionals

This card was based on Mojo Monday sketch 232.

I’ve always found it a challenge to use the Northern Flurry textured impressions folder. I’m not sure why. But, in this case, it went naturally with the card, so that the bottom panel wasn’t so “empty”. (I didn’t want to put DSP there…)

The ribbon I used is displayed with the Halloween products in the Holiday catalog, but it’s not just for Halloween! Use it where you would want to put a spot of black or gray on your project. It’s a single-sided pattern, though (the stripes are only on one side of the ribbon), so plan accordingly for your project. 🙂

The DSP I used was with the Fall products, but again, use on your products according to color scheme. You don’t have to stick to the intended holiday!

I stamped the present on top of the branch, but I still like the look of fussy-cutting the owl dude. Gives him some dimension. Plus, you can have his toes (or claws, or whatever), hanging over the branch, and the branch is properly covered by his toes (whatever). I added his winter hat separately, and adhered it with dimensionals so it stands out a bit.

Leave a Reply

