Our Advent Calendar

This year, I decided to make an advent calendar for us. I never had one before; I mean, I never even HEARD of one until fairly recently. Much less, what is it for? (Really, is it just a countdown? Is that what it’s for?)

Yes, I guess I do live under a rock sometimes. 🙂

I was going to do something elaborate, until I realized that it MUST BE DONE by December 1. It’s a good thing I found a cool tutorial by Brenda Quintana. It features small boxes made with the Petal Card punch. That will give you the scale when you see my finished product.

AdventCalendar

Stamp set: Be of Good Cheer (digital)

Ink (digital): Gumball Green, Cherry Cobbler

Paper: Gumball Green, Cherry Cobbler, Be of Good Cheer DSP, Very Vanilla (digital)

Accessories: My Digital Studio, Petal Card punch, 3/4″ circle punch, 1″ square punch, Metallic brads

If you like constructing boxes, this wasn’t that bad. Just make the first one with scrap cardstock (i.e., cardstock you don’t care much for). I think I used one 12″ x12″ sheet of cardstock for the outer box, 2 partial 8-1/2″ x 11″ for the inner dividers, and then 2 sheets of 8-1/2″ x 11″ (plus one scrap piece) for the box doors. The hardest was picking the patterns to put on the front, then arranging them so they looked somewhat random.

Since each space is about a 1″ cube, you don’t have to put much in there. 2 Hershey’s kisses fit snugly. You can also put 3 Starburst candies in there. If you overstuff each box, the back of the whole calendar will bulge a bit. Just so you know. I didn’t completely adhere the backing on mine, so it’s bowed out from the stack of boxes. 🙂

I knew I wanted to use the Be of Good Cheer DSP, but I was a little stumped on how to add the numbers to each box. Should I get the MDS download for the 25 & Counting stamp set? I then found the Be of Good Cheer digital kit… it has the numbers 1 to 31 as stamps, as well as digital versions of the DSP. I added 1 to 25 to my 8-1/2″ x 11″ canvas, choosing alternating colors (to simplify, I added all of one color first, then added the numbers in the second color). Since the numbers were too big for my boxes, I grouped all of the numbers, then resized all as one big block. That way, all of the numbers get resized by the same ratio! Very cool trick. I managed to re-size them correctly in the first pass, for punching out with the 3/4″ circle punch.

I punched the fronts of each box from physical DSP, rather than doing it digitally. In this case, using the traditional product was much easier; just pick up a piece and start punching. Otherwise, I would have to choose a pattern for each number, and I didn’t have the patience to do that digitally. Heh.

So, was it well received?

AdventCalendar_Waiting

I think the concept was a hit. 🙂 Although, waiting for each day is torture! (The clock shows countdown to when it is time to open a door.)

Leave a Reply

