One More for the Road

I have one more poinsettia card, and I promise I’ll let it rest. For a while, at least. 🙂

FramePoinsettia

Stamp set: Greetings of the Season (Holiday Catalog)

Ink: Early Espresso

Paper: Crumb Cake, Early Espresso, Cherry Cobbler, Garden Green, Festival of Prints DSP stack (Holiday catalog)

Accessories: Window Frames collection framelits (Holiday catalog), Merry Minis punch pack (Holiday catalog), Festive Paper-piercing pack (Holiday catalog), 7/8″ cotton ribbon (Holiday catalog), Basics Glimmer brads, Stampin’ dimensionals

Phew! Lots of goodies from the Holiday catalog! (HINT: only one month left to order goodies from this seasonal catalog.)

I thought this print matched the Window frames shape, and I wanted to use that shape to frame a poinsettia. That determined 80% of the card … now to plan the sentiment and other touches.

I played with stamping on the cotton ribbon before, as suggested in the Holiday catalog. I must tell you: I wasn’t so hot on this idea after first playing with it. But now, it’s got its uses. I found that you must carefully blot the ribbon after stamping. And, for extra insurance, I hit it with my heat tool (on the low setting). Otherwise, the ink WILL RUN. Trust me on this one. It does add a nice rustic touch to the card, though.

This was also my first time using the piercing pack to add piercing to my frame. I guess I’m  usually just too lazy, but that does add a nice touch to the card, as well! A bit of dimension.

Oh, and I realized, with this card, I now used all four sentiments of this set. I mean, how often do you use all of the stamps from one set? Within a month, even! 🙂

Leave a Reply

