Just Had to Create This Card

I have a British card magazine sitting where I eat, that I am still working my way through. On the cover is a snazzy little Christmas card “that you, too, can make”. So, after staring at it for days, I decided it was my turn to make the card.

Stamp set: Greetings of the Season (Holiday catalog)

Ink: Early Espresso

Paper: Naturals Ivory, Cherry Cobbler, Very Vanilla, Gumball Green, Daffodil Delight (hidden), Be of Good Cheer DSP

Accessories: Merry Minis punch pack (Holiday catalog), Basics Glimmer brads, 3/4″ circle punch (hidden), Stampin’ dimensionals

When I was done, I laughed a little. I managed to use the Merry Minis punch pack AGAIN! I needed an embellishment to finish off the card. From the Merry Minis thread, Jackie Topa and Andrea Borries showed 2 ways to build poinsettias with the ornament punch. So clever! I decided to combine both of their ideas, and also added my own spin (the glimmer brad). So cute!

Here’s a closeup so you can see what I did:

Punch 6 ornaments for each layer. Glue bottom layer to 3/4″ circle (there will be about 1/8″ gap in the middle). Before gluing down top layer, wrap each ornament around a pencil or piercing tool. Add a glimmer brad to the center. Punch 2 ornaments out of green of your choice and glue to the back for leaves.

I really like the layout of this card. I think I need to adapt it to the A2 size, and maybe try a different theme…

Oh, and I also had a chuckle over the sentiment I chose (which is the same as the name of the stamp set). Isn’t it the long way of saying “Season’s Greetings”? 🙂

NOTE: Like the glimmer brads and Be of Good Cheer DSP? They are part of the Online Extravaganza, going on until Wednesday, November 28. (You know I had to mention this, right?)

Leave a Reply

