Building a Tree with Punches

Another card I saw, while reading the thread on use of the Merry Minis Punch pack, was on the blog of Nicole Picadura. She stamped and punched trees, ornaments, and a star and created a Christmas tree card. I don’t have the stamp set, but someone on the thread suggested building the tree with just punched cardstock. So, I gave it a whirl.

Stamp set: Tiny Tags

Ink: Early Espresso

Paper: Crumb Cake, Cherry Cobbler, Very Vanilla, Lucky Limeade, Be of Good Cheer DSP, Silver Glimmer Paper

Accessories: Merry Minis punch pack (Holiday catalog), Stamp-a-ma-jig, Early Espresso 1/8″ taffeta ribbon, Dazzling Details

The card I saw used dimensionals. I guess I forgot that feature when I built my card. Not much depth to my card, but I think it still works.

I used a tiny sentiment, stamped in Early Espresso, as the base of my tree. The card looked a bit naked, so I added a small bow of Early Espresso 1/8″ taffeta. Now, it looks festive!

For variety, I punched the trees out of plain cardstock, the ornaments from DSP, and the star from glimmer paper. Love that sparkle! I added a little more sparkle of Dazzling Details on parts of the ornaments, but it doesn’t show up very well.

Pretty nifty, huh?

Oh, and if you like the Be of Good Cheer DSP, now is the time to get it. It’s 20% off during the Online Extravaganza (lasts until Wednesday, November 28).

Leave a Reply

