Tree Border

Hot on the heels of the last card … I had the idea of punching trees on a border strip and backing it with DSP. Run with it, right?

Stamp set: Greetings of the Season (Holiday catalog)

Ink: VersaMark

Paper: Gumball Green, Very Vanilla, Be of Good Cheer DSP

Accessories: Merry Minis punch pack (Holiday catalog), Pewter Stampin’ emboss powder, Cherry Cobbler scallop dots ribbon

My goodness. I think this is the most I’ve used one color in one shot. Gumball Green. Not really my favorite. Who would have thought? I think it’s just because I’ve been working with the Be of Good Cheer DSP that I naturally use the color that matches. ‘Course, now that I’m down to one sheet, I’m wondering if I need more. šŸ™‚

Okay, back to the card! I didn’t leave my tree border to chance. I drew guidelines on the back. I used the pattern on the paper to more-or-less evenly spread out where my trees were going to go (I picked middle and sides, then picked a place in between). Because the pattern didn’t let me divide up the border exactly, I stuck with the spacing of the pattern of the paper. My guidelines were for the vertical middle of the trees and the bottom of the trunk.

Once I had my border punched, I put it over the DSP I wanted to use, and figured out which part of the pattern I wanted to show through the apertures. Because I spaced each tree according to the pattern, I could get almost the same part of the pattern showing in the border. Carefully, I cut and pasted the DSP to the back of the border. Phew!

The sentiment is heat-embossed onto the other DSP piece of the card. Maybe in retrospect I’d use a different color (Black or Early Espresso). However, I like the look of the pewter embossing powder. Just a little hard to read, I know… šŸ™‚

Here’s a closeup; maybe you can see it (and my wonderful embossing job) a little better.

I added a ribbon, and the card was finished! A happy card.

Leave a Reply

