Joyful Ornaments

Here’s another card for which part of the idea has been waiting a while to get out of my head. πŸ™‚ The pieces were only sitting for about a week on my table. πŸ™‚

Stamp set: Simply Serif mini alphabet

Ink: Early Espresso, Silver Stampin’ Dazzle marker

Paper: Gumball Green, Cherry Cobbler, Be of Good Cheer DSP

Accessories: 2-3/8″ Scallop circle punch, Merry Minis punch pack (Holiday catalog), Cherry Cobbler baker’s twine, Stampin’ dimensionals

For this card, I started with the sentiment. Very unusual for me; it’s usually what goes on last (and decided on last). I thought it would be neat to stamp each letter of the sentiment with my mini alphabet, punch with the mini ornament punch, then “paint” the ornament top with the silver pen from the Holiday catalog. I settled on “joy” because it was short. πŸ™‚

I was originally going to put the sentiment across the DSP piece that looks like holiday candy (in Cherry Cobbler). I found that I liked it better on the scallop circle. I originally wasn’t going to use the scallop circle either. I just started grabbing pieces again, and put the card together.

I strung the baker’s twine across the scallop circle, making sure not to pull too tight. Make sure it’s not too loose, also, otherwise the sentiment hangs too low (or just looks heavy!). πŸ™‚ I put each ornament down with a snippet of a dimensional, tucking the baker’s twine behind each. The baker’s twine is not actually tacked down on the front, if you can believe that.

Do you want to see the ornaments close up?

I popped up the scallop circle on a whole bunch of dimensionals, to make sure it stays sturdy. Because, remember, those ornaments are heavy. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

