Another Bicycle

On my card on last Thursday, I used markers to color the bicycle image from Moving Forward. I know that some people would rather just ink with one color — tap onto your ink pad and stamp. Yeah, much easier! I stamped the bicycle in a couple of different colors and let the ideas simmer.

Well, I was looking at my embossing folders and realized that one of them matched perfectly! I took inspiration for the layout from Mojo Monday, Sketch 239. I used the square sketch but made an A2 card as usual.

Stamp set: Moving Forward (Ronald McDonald House Charities set)

Ink: Midnight Muse

Paper: Naturals White, Bashful Blue, Basic Gray, Midnight Muse, Whisper White

Accessories: Chevron textured impressions folder, Mini brads, Midnight Muse stitched satin ribbon, Labels Collection framelits

Don’t the chevrons remind you of the treads on a tire? Quite the stylish embossing folder… it can work for different types of cards (kids, masculine, generic). So awesome, we got this at Convention in our pack of goodies from the I am Creative extra class. Way worth the extra cost!

The stitched satin makes me think of a five-lane freeway. Not sure why. 🙂 Plus, where would I ever have seen a 5-lane (in one direction) freeway? Not laid-back Hawaii? Well, yeah. You should see — one section has a contra-flow lane and shoulder lane in the morning for a total of SEVEN lanes in one direction. And it still doesn’t move. Ugh, traffic in what most people consider a paradise? Yep.

Back to crafting: I also cheated with the bow. No, it’s a real bow, but I tied it separately from the ribbon that is going across my card. I placed the bow on top with a glue dot. The ribbon and separate bow blend nicely. Everything also sits flatter this way. I have seen cards elsewhere in which the ribbon is wider than the bow. Looks too weird that way! For those ribbons, I would have taken the time to tie the bow on the piece wrapped around the card.

Did you notice I added my favorite accessory for the bicycle image? I put mini brads on the wheels again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

