The Almost Card

Before I went to Convention, I had a card design rolling around in my head (no, it didn’t hurt, but thanks for asking!). It used the Moving Forward stamp set. Since we all got the set at Convention, I thought that created a good incentive to actually make the card.

I originally intended to make this my swap card for our group’s meeting, but went with the Perfectly Preserved card instead.

Stamp: Moving Forward (Ronald McDonald Charities set), The Open Sea

Ink: Real Red, Going Gray

Paper: Naturals White, Midnight Muse, Bashful Blue, Basic Gray, Whisper White

Accessories: 2-1/2″ circle punch, 2-3/8″ scallop circle punch, 1″ circle punch (to round corner), Fancy Fan textured impressions folder, Chevron textured impressions folder, Mini brads, Midnight Muse stitched satin ribbon, Stampin’ dimensionals

I followed Sketch 245 from Mojo Monday, leaving out the extra layer for the card front.

Hey, no DSP on this card! 🙂 Instead, I embossed the two background panels in different designs. They were both intended to suggest water/waves. I also punched out the stamped image with a scallop circle, backed by a larger circle, to be in-theme with waves. (I almost wish that the stamped layer could have been a circle and the mat layer a scallop circle, but this way works just as well.)

Of course, I had to add the Midnight Muse ribbon. Well, the color matches, but it also feels nautical.

The final piece on this card is the compass image. I used the compass from The Open Sea and HAND CUT the circle.  It’s not as bad as it sounds… Turned out that my 3/4″ circle punch was just a bit too small to punch the image (without the N, S, E, W). For added detail, I attached a brad from the back, to have hands for my compass.

Here’s a closeup of some of the details:

Leave a Reply

