August Newsletter Project

This is the project included in this month’s newsletter.

I went a little bit crazy with this one. I had seen a card in a British magazine a couple of months ago. It was a double aperture card. Okay, I made one around Easter, but I wanted to do another one with more “stuff” going on. I got back from Convention and decided to make this card. I was originally thinking of submitting it for a contest, when I realized I mis-remembered the theme for current contests. So, it became the newsletter project instead. πŸ™‚ (I’m sure you don’t mind, right?)

I also wanted to make sure I showed you items for the new Holiday Catalog, that went live on August 1 (yes, I’m a little bit behind! Better than being a BIG behind, as my husband says).

Stamp set: Perfectly Preserved (Holiday catalog)

Ink: Raspberry Ripple, More Mustard, Cajun Craze, Lucky Limeade, Early Espresso, Early Espresso marker

Paper: Cajun Craze, More Mustard, Very Vanilla, Lucky Limeade, Orchard Harvest DSP

Accessories: Cannery Framelits set (Holiday catalog), Naturals buttons, Linen thread, Small oval punch, Little Leaves sizzlits, Stamp-a-ma-jig

Super cute, if you ask me! πŸ™‚

Let me show you the inside, so you can see all of the details of how I made it come together.

Opening the first flap:

Opened to the inside:

I thought it was quite brilliant to hide the stem of the inside flower behind the cut-out leaves, don’t you? πŸ™‚ If you can believe it, I didn’t use the Stamp-a-ma-jig to place the stem.

I did use the Stamp-a-ma-jig, though, to stamp the jar onto the inner layer and the flap. First, I die cut the jar on the top flap. Then, I used the Stamp-a-ma-jig to stamp onto the inner layers (one at a time, of course). For the flap, I used an Xacto to cut out the jar (and left the rim), so you could see to the inside. The inner details show through, so you can see the complete jar when the card is closed.

I also had fun cutting out the apples and pear using the Big Shot. I love fussy-cutting, but the framelits dies make it fast.

What I like about this stamp set and paper, is that you don’t have to use it just for Fall projects. With all of the fresh fruit in gardens and the grocery store, this is the time for canning. (If I had a better kitchen setup, you can bet I would be doing this, too! And I have in the past…) Whip up a card with these two products and attach to one of the jars! A perfect gift.

You can also use this to make thank you gifts for teachers as kids go back to school. I have a project in mind and hope to make it soon to share.

Leave a Reply

