Convention Re-cap, part 2

Continuing about Convention 2012… Thursday was the opening day, with a morning general session. We had a funny, funny speaker named Jason Dorsey. He was invited to talk about Generation Y (or the Millenium generation, etc.). You know, he was so spot-on with the description of this generation and the older generations (Boomer, in particular). But, he said it in a way that you can really get offended. I mean, a lot of it was true. (And, you know, all those descriptions of Boomers was eerily descriptive of me, and I probably land in Gen X.)

Confession time: I had THREE pens in my purse, a flip phone, AND a check. But, there were extenuating circumstances, really! If you ever heard him speak, you’ll probably know why I say that. πŸ™‚

After that were classes and lunch.

Our classes were great, too. The first was given by Emily Montoya and the class was named “I am reaching out”. We continued the discussion about Gen Y. We talked about communication strategies as well as event planning and shopping habits. Very applicable to understanding people that we know that fall within this generation. Puts into perspective and explains a lot of observations (and frustrations, I admit) from our daily lives. Funny that we go to a stamping convention to learn about this! πŸ™‚

The other class was given by Brian Pilling. I love taking classes from him, because he can be so funny with such a straight face. Sometimes it’s a little bit of physical humor, and you just have to be there to appreciate it. This year, the class was called “I am a leader”. His focus was identifying dysfunctional leadership, and how to avoid it so you can be a good/better leader. His approach was to look at extremes of behavior, and aiming for a moderate approach. To summarize, he suggested three things:

  • Be an influencer.
  • Strive for balance.
  • Ask questions.

Although I’m not in a leadership role for Stampin’ Up! (I have no downline), nor at work, I think this is still applicable for work. Just a good approach in general, to life, I think.

The Make and Take sessions were also great. Being a helper was not as stressful as I thought it would be (thank you, demonstrators!). Plus, for each session you came to, you had a goodie bag waiting for you, as well as grid paper just for Convention! (In Primrose Petals, no less!) Thursday’s goodie was a pack of rhinestones. Who can’t use more rhinestones?!? (Turns out each gift had to do with an embellishment used for each day’s project).

And how about my swaps for the day? I had my scrapbook page swap, organized by Arlene. She’s such a sweet lady; I love reading her posts at Splitcoast and it was awesome to finally meet her (I kept running into her after that, how cool, and I got a picture with her too).

My May swap, which turned into the April layout, had a spring theme to it: flowers and butterflies. I thought I had May, but someone else made one with the actual month name on there. It’s a good thing I made mine generic (without a month).

Paper: Marina Mist, Island Indigo, Bashful Blue, Whisper White, Daffodil Delight, Tempting Turquoise, Summer Smooches DSP

Accessories: Fun Flowers Bigz L die, 3/4″ circle punch, Elegant butterfly punch, Brights glimmer brads, Rhinestones, Scallop border punch

Here’s my August swap, which had a beach theme. I put the month on the sun rays, and added a “punch art” sand castle and a “die cut art” beach umbrella.

Stamp set: Simply Serif mini alphabet

Ink: Early Espresso, Soft Suede

Paper: Pool Party, Naturals Ivory, Early Espresso, Real Red, Daffodil Delight, Crumb Cake, Summer Smooches DSP

Accessories: Scallop circle Bigz, 3-1/2″ circle Originals, Postage stamp punch, Word Window Punch, 2-1/2″ circle punch, Petite Pennants builder punch, Dazzling Details

Hint to assemble the sun: I used (retired) Dotto to hold down the pennant shapes on my grid paper to stamp the letters to “August” (with the Simply Serif Mini alphabet). I also put Dotto on the back of my circle to hold down the pennants as I placed them around the circle. I used the grid paper, so that I could easily measure about 3/4″ of the point showing from the circle. Kept going around until I had 8 points around the edge of the circle. Easy!

At the end of the day, I also had my 3×3 swap. A camera man came by while we were lined up and filmed us all waving. I was hoping to see myself in the Convention re-cap video, but no dice. We did have about 2-3 seconds of it on there, though, but from the front of the line (I was about 3/4 back).

Stamp set: Just Believe

Ink: Gumball Green, Raspberry Ripple

Paper: Crumb Cake, Primrose Petals, Whisper White, First Edition specialty DSP

Accessories: Bitty buttons, White baker’s twine, Designer Frames textured impressions folder, Labels Collection framelits, Bitty Banners framelits, Sanding block

Pretty cute, and didn’t take as long as I feared.

Leave a Reply

