Celebrate Independence

I had made a card sometime in April (trying to use the Sweet Shoppe DSP) on which I really loved the layout. So much, I decided I wanted to make another card using current colors/papers.

Since it had a banner, I thought it would make a great card for today.

Stamp set: Perfectly Penned, Every Little Bit

Ink: Midnight Muse

Paper: Real Red, Naturals White, Midnight Muse, Whisper White, Brights Patterns DSP Stack

Accessories: Stripes textured impressions folder, Petite Pennants buuilder punch, Adorning Accents edgelits, Adorning Accents textured impressions set, White baker’s twine

How’s that for the Red, White, and Blue? 🙂

I stamped the stars and cut them by hand. I couldn’t figure out which way was “up” for the stars, so I ended up giving them random orientations. I hope it doesn’t look too weird. I thought it would make it look hand-drawn if they weren’t all oriented the same (so they looked different). Isn’t it great how this set has an image for so many events through the year?

I glued down each pennant, and poked a hole in each of the inner corners. I threaded a piece of twine in each pair of holes and left the ends loose in the back. (They will be covered up when I put the panel on the card.) I tied small bows and attached to each end of the banner.

To emboss the bottom stripes across the whole piece, I had to run the folder through the Big Shot twice. I also made use of my (now retired) sizzlit strip cutting plate. Since it’s narrower than the usual plate, I don’t cover the entire embossing folder. Otherwise, the edge of the folder creates a crease on the cardstock and it doesn’t go away even with the second pass. I also found that it was easy to line up the embossing for the second pass, BUT I had to secure everything with painter’s tape so nothing shifts. Really. After two failed attempts, I decided to do it the right way and use tape.

The last interesting part of the card is the sentiment. I could have heat embossed with white embossing powder, but … well, I was feeling lazy. Instead, I stamped onto Whisper White and fussy-cut the sentiment. (And tell me how this is lazy???)  This turned out okay; there was enough white around everything that kept the sentiment visible.

(And, I have to say, the new stamp pads are so DREAMY!)

Leave a Reply

