July Newsletter Project

This is the project included in this month’s newsletter. I wanted to do something seasonal, but also include the stamp set from this month’s promotion, Reason To Smile. (Wanna see the flyer? Click here. Here’s another flyer showing projects.)

Stamp set: Reason to Smile (promo), Simply Serif Mini alphabet

Ink: Whisper White craft, Real Red

Paper: Naturals Ivory, Midnight Muse, Brights Patterns DSP Stack, Silver Glimmer

Accessories: Finishing Touches edgelits, Apothecary Accents framelits, Stampin’ Dimensionals

How’s that? I’ve been having the darned-est time designing a card with the set! I guess I’m just not as floral-oriented as I thought. 🙂 However, as I was staring at the stamp set (hee hee), and I was thinking about the holiday coming up (Independence Day), I thought I could use the solid flower stamp as fireworks! Even my husband picked up on it when I showed it to him.

I was originally going to put a wider piece of silver glimmer paper. But, I liked the thin strip so much, I used it instead! (Now, I have a strip waiting to be used on another card…)

I put the Real Red pattern on the left, even though we are used to seeing stripes (on a flag) on the right. Somehow, it seemed more balanced that way (to have the stamping on the right). Not sure why…

Of course, we don’t have the perfect sentiment to match the holiday (too country-specific?). It’s a good thing I bought this tiny alphabet set. It does take a bit of work to mount, and is quirky when stamped (see how un-straight everything is). But, I really like it! (So much, I’m using it on two Conventiion swaps!) I guess part of the reason is that we got the Calendar alphabet/number set last year at Convention. I was excited to get it because I wanted it for the longest time (since it came out…). I mounted it… and never used it. Of course it retired! So, now I have to make good use of this set because I paid for it! 🙂

I do have to say, if the quirky un-straight stamping will bug you, you could:

  1. mount each letter such that they always start in about the same place. That way, you could always figure out where to place your stamp.
  2. use the stamp-a-ma-jig, creating permanent sheets for each stamp. Oh, wow, I’m not even sure I’d what to do this!

I like mine the way it is, so I’ll keep doing what I’ve been doing for this one (and any new one they have in the future).

Oh, and to make sure I keep using this set? This is the one set that has a permanent place on my crafting table (along with the “made for you” stamps that I use).

Leave a Reply

