Sketch 246, Take Two

As I was plotting a card using the Mojo Monday sketch from last week (#246), I tried to come up with a card that uses the sketch in the orientation given.

Hmm, what to use as the three individual elements? Aha, butterflies! For the left-side panel, I thought I could then use an idea I saw posted on Stampin’ Connection. Now, I had another card I could implement. šŸ™‚

Stamp set: none

Ink: none

Paper: Naturals White, Tangerine Tango, Marina Mist, Summer Smooches DSP

Accessories: Elegant Butterfly punch, Pearls Basic Jewels, Flower Garden textured impressions folder, Sanding block

Different from yesterday’s card, right? That was the intent as well.

I used the sketch almost as-is, except I left out the ribbon detail (and the round element on the bottom left).

Hopefullly, the design isn’t too busy. After embossing the Tangerine Tango print of the DSP, I used my sanding block to rub off some of the color. I was hoping to show the flower outlines more, but I guess the paper doesn’t lie completely flat. Still looks okay, though! (This was the idea I got from Stampin’ Connection, although that demonstrator was able to get the full image sanded.) I didn’t want to try too hard to get the whole thing sanded, because I was worried the DSP would either tear or develop a hole!

Have you tried your hand at using sketches as a springboard for creating cards? I find that sometimes it makes the process faster, sometimes not. It does help to have A PLACE to start, though! Sometimes it could be a color challenge that gets your creative juices flowing. If I’m lucky, sometimes staring at the stamp set works, too! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

