Re-using the Sketch

I needed another card in a hurry, so I went back to the sketch I used for the previous card. This time I used a new stamp set called Moving Forward. This is a special stamp set that can be found on the inside back cover of the Annual Catalog. For each set purchased, Stampin’ Up! donates $3 to the Ronald McDonald House Charities. Wow, for getting a fun item, you can also make a difference!

This year’s set was pretty cute; I was missing stamps that can be used for younger, carefree cards. So, this was one of the sets on my first order.

Stamp set: Moving Forward (RMHC stamp set)

Ink: Real Red, Midnight Muse, Gumball Green, Rich Razzleberry, Basic Black, Pumpkin Pie marker, Gumball Green marker

Paper: Real Red, Daffodil Delight, Whisper White

Accessories: Blender pen, Square Lattice textured impressions folder, Cherry Cobbler baker’s twine, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ dimensionals

See, a bit carefree, right? I didn’t follow the sketch exactly… I left off the scallops at the bottoms of the panels, as well as the circle / scallop circle. Still works, though, right?

I was a bit of a maverick in mounting my stamp set. You can see that each of the larger stamps comes with a sentiment attached. Well, if this was a wood-mount set (which it isn’t, I bought clear-mount), I would cut apart the image and sentiment, and put the sentiment on the side of the wood block. Even though my set is clear-mount, I decided I can still cut apart the image and the sentiment. The only thing I did differently, was to make sure I only cut rubber to cut apart, and that’s it. No other trimming allowed. That lets me put the sentiment together with the image on the block if I want to! I just match up the cut edges and it’s almost like I never cut them apart. Clever, right? Plus, I can use each piece separately, which makes it easy to mix and match (as you can see, I used the bicycle with the sentiment from the boat). Not to mention coloring the image with a different color from the sentiment!

Oh, I put a piece of Whisper White on the inside, since Real Red is too dark to write on with other than a black Sharpie. Of course, I had to stamp on that piece as well!

Isn’t that cute? To stamp the flower with two different colors, I first inked the whole thing in Rich Razzleberry. Then, with my blender pen, I wiped off the ink from the stem. Finally, I inked the stems in Gumball Green. I did the same thing with my little birdie on the front of the card, using Midnight Muse and Pumpkin Pie.

Leave a Reply

