A Thank You Sketch

I mentioned in my newsletter project post that I stumbled upon a sketch blog. They release sketches weekly on Mondays. A very creative Stampin’ Up! demonstrator, Mary Fish, is on their design team, and also posts her projects on Stampin’ Connection (Stampin’ Up!-sponsored demonstrator share site). I’ve been seeing her weekly cards, and finally went over to their site to check out the sketches. The blog is called Mojo Monday, and the current sketch can be found here.

This week’s sketch is number 244. I had to make a thank-you card in a hurry, and this sketch immediately got the juices flowing. I mean, I picked out the two pieces I was going to use (for the left rectangle and the square), then hopped in the shower. When I was done, I figured out all the pieces I wanted to make. Took maybe 30 minutes from there. I was on a ROLL!

So, I wanted to show it to you. A few people have already ordered from the new catalog, and I’m going to be sending one of these to them, also! (The original went to Janine, so I’ll be working from a picture for the rest!)

Stamp set: Every Little Bit, Curly Cute

Ink: Basic Black, Island Indigo, Real Red marker, Basic Gray marker, Sahara Sand marker

Paper: Crumb Cake, Whisper White, Pool Party, Comfort Cafe DSP

Accessories: Whisper White 3/8″ taffeta ribbon, 2011 In Color brads, Scallop border punch, 1-3/8″ circle punch, Perfect Polka Dots textured impressions folder, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ dimensionals

I think it came out pretty cute! The Comfort Cafe DSP is primarily fall colors, but this pattern works for all-occasion. The pattern is pretty funky, too!

I embossed the Pool Party square with the Perfect Polka Dots textured impressions folder, since the dots were a different size from the pattern on the DSP piece. I originally wanted to use the Houndtooth textured impressions folder, but the size of the texture was the same as the DSP. Needed balance, so I went to the polka dots.

With the two patterns, I decided that the card is “fashionable”. Thus, I chose the purse as my focal image. 🙂

From there, I used the fancy sentiment from Curly Cute. Since I had a square space to put my sentiment instead of along skinny space, I used my Stamp-a-ma-jig to put it on two lines.

Leave a Reply

