June Newsletter Project

This is the project included in this month’s newsletter.

I wasn’t planning on showing all of the new In Colors with this month’s project. After all, most of the newsletter recipients should have also gotten a catalog from me and I included a bookmark with examples of all the In Colors.

I already knew I wanted to use the new stamp set, Betsy’s Blossom, mainly because that’s the one new stamp set I have from the new catalog so far. I stumbled upon a sketch blog, and saw the perfect sketch. Well, I saw that there were 5 panels … and immediately I thought of the In Colors. So, there you go!

Stamp set: Betsy’s Blossom, Teeny Tiny Wishes (now in clear mount!)

Ink: Gumball Green, Midnight Muse, Summer Starfruit marker

Paper: Crumb Cake, Whisper White, Gumball Green, Midnight Muse, Primrose Petals, Raspberry Ripple, Summer Starfruit, Very Vanilla

Accessories: Apothecary Accents Framelits, Bitty Banners Framelits, Stampin’ dimensionals

Everything new is in italics. The sketch is from Mojo Monday and can be found here.

So, what do you think? πŸ™‚ I hope it’s not too weird that I included only part of the label, and did not align it with the left edge of the card front. I was going to do that originally (align to the left), but then the stamped images looked too … something. Like the card was unbalanced somehow. (just like me? haha!) So, even though the birdy image is now almost centered, the branch and sentiment balance each other out. Strange.

Do you like the little border on the bitty banner? This is a trick that our group memeber Kim showed us. I think it’s pretty cool to be able to use the banner framelits without the coordinating stamp set (even though it IS convenient to have the matching stamp set). If you can find a small enough sentiment to fit in the banner, you can make it work (she also used the “thank you” from the same set; I’ve yet to see what else works).

The border, in case you were wondering when I would talk about that part, is done with a marker. Yep. The framelit has just a bit of a border between the cutting edge and the opening in the middle. So, if you take a marker to your banner BEFORE you pop it out of the framelit, you can get a cool little border.

Here’s a composite pic to show you the brief steps I took (excuse the lighting): stamp and cut, draw border, pop out banner.

Only tip I can tell you is to COMMIT! Once you start drawing your border, don’t look back! πŸ™‚ I mean, don’t stop. If you see on my card, there are darker spots in a few places. That’s where I lifted my marker from the cardstock to change drawing angles. In the step-by-step pic, I adjusted the framelit so I could comfortably draw all of one line in one shot. Rotate the banner if you need to in order to draw another line.

One last thing. Whenever I have panels of many colors to put together, I always wonder in what order I should put them. Well, in this case, I put them in approximately rainbow order. Well, backwards, actually. I did start off with the Raspberry Ripple on the left, but it was so obviously a rainbow, that I felt it looked weird. So I just reversed the order and my brain doesn’t automatically yell “RAINBOW!”. πŸ™‚ Of course, it’s not a bad thing, considering my college mascot is a rainbow. Really. Although, I suppose since no one wanted to prance around in a rainbow outfit, the football team has the Rainbow Warrior. OOO, manly outfit! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

