Last Day!

Today is the last day to get items out of the 2011-2012 Idea Book and Catalog. *sniff* I sure will miss Poppy Parade and Concord Crush. I will also miss some stamp sets and accessories.

I never did post cards that I made with retiring stuff during the month… OOPS! Life just got in the way. Well, how about for the last day, I leave you with some of them? I will mention retiring items from each card. Most are still available; stamp sets are available until 11:50pm MT tonight. I will be going to a demonstrator meeting tonight, so if there’s anything from the Idea Book & Catalog that you suddenly “need”, please contact me right away!

The first uses two of my favorite stamp sets, Best Friends Forever and Fox & Friends. Fox & Friends was good for playful cards, or for baby stuff. I liked using the branch stamp from Best Friends Forever. Now, I have to look for a replacement from the new catalog! I also used the Scallop Oval Bigz die that is retiring. (I’m glad that Petite Pairs is staying; I need all of the sentiment stamp sets that I can get!)

This second card uses Fifth Avenue Floral. It is a very stylish stamp set, but I guess it’s time is done. It works great with watercoloring and the reinker spread technique. This card also uses Basic Black satin ribbon. Did you know that the satin ribbon is retiring? Oh, so sad! It gives cards such a formal touch. There will be some satin ribbon in the new catalog, but not as formal looking as these.

This card uses my favorite go-to stamp set for birthdays, Crazy for Cupcakes. What’s not to love about the stand of cupcakes? When we got the scented embossing powder (will be in the new catalog, btw), I loved the combination with this stamp set. What am I going to do for a large cupcake image??? This card also uses retiring colors, Blushing Bride and Pear Pizzazz. Don’t forget, also, that the Pretty in Pink 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon is retiring (as well as all of the 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon). We will be getting a new type of grosgrain ribbon; I have some from our preorder and it may work for certain types of projects; we’ll have to see!

Here’s another card with retiring colors Blushing Bride and Pear Pizzazz. I used papers from the In Color Patterns DSP Stack. Sorry, I used some of the cute buttons from the Occasions mini catalog that is no longer available. However, you may want to snag one of those Blossom Bouquet Triple Layer punches. It was a little bit of work, but I love the shapes you can get. I will definitely miss having shapes to layer. 😦

Leave a Reply

