National Scrapbook Day

Really? There’s a day dedicated to scrapbooking? Well, yeah… I believe it’s the first Saturday of each May (as decided by the scrapbooking industry, is my guess!).

So, today is the day this year.

I’m going to spend the weekend over at a local scrapbook store. I’m not quite sure why… maybe to get out of the house? I’m a little sad, though. I’ve been on vacation, and I go back to work on Monday at 6:30am! (And, I’m not a morning person)

I have some projects leftover from a crop last year, so I’m going to try to get them finished up. And, maybe start on a few more pages.

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with a project that was inspired by a share at our last demonstrator meeting. Debbie brought in a favor from a birthday party… it had pockets for Ghiradelli chocolate squares and had picturers of the birthday girl when she was really young. This would be a great thing for an anniversary party favor or graduation party favor… put old and new pictures, and taylor the color scheme to the event. You could even leave out the chocolate and put either journaling cards (for a mini scrapbook) or other giftie items (tea bags? gift cards?)

Well, here’s my take on the project.

Front (I didn’t put a sentiment…). I had a lot of fun coloring this image, but I wouldn’t do this for more than a few party favors (unless I really REALLY liked the person…). 🙂

Side, closed:

And here it is open. I didn’t put any pictures or candy, sorry!

Supplies used:

Stamp set: Apothecary Art (carryover from Occasions Mini)

Ink: Early Espresso, Marina Mist, Blushing Bride, Lucky Limeade

Paper: Marina Mist, Soft Suede, Very Vanilla, Beau Chateau DSP (retiring), Neutrals Patterns DSP stack

Accessories: Labels framelits (carryover from Occasions Mini), Very Vanilla seam binding, Crop-a-dile (retiring?!?), Sticky Strip, 1-3/8″ circle punch, Anywhere glue stick, Aqua painters

I cut the label and the mat with the same die; I trimmed down the stamped image close to the outline. I wish the spacing between two framelits was smaller!

I’ll try to get a PDF with measurements and construction details…

Leave a Reply

