May Newsletter Project

Here is the project included in this month’s newsletter. For this project, and projects throughout this month, I’m going to concentrate on stamp sets that are retiring. I’m going to break them out one last time! If you see anything you like while I’m doing this, and want to get it, please contact me! 🙂

Back to the newsletter project.

Stamp set: Upsy Daisy (retiring), Pursuit of Happiness

Ink: Daffodil Delight, Peach Parfait (retiring), Tangerine Tango, VersaMark

Paper: So Saffron, Peach Parfait (retiring), Whisper White, Marina Mist

Accessories: Black stampin’ emboss powder, Sponge daubers, Scallop oval punch, Large oval punch, Stampin’ dimensionals

Don’t you love when you create something and it comes out close to how you envisioned it?

I was inspired by a card I saw on the home page of Splitcoast Stampers. There is a card with a skyline silhouette, and the sunlight behind the skyline is created by triangles of patterned paper. The patterned paper is arranged in a radiating pattern, like rays of sun. So, I wanted a silhouette, too, with rays of sun behind.

I pulled out Upsy Daisy for this, because this is my favorite large solid image. I’m so sad that it’s being retired! I guess it’s hit its lifespan, though… I remember winning this through Prize Patrol at my first Convention (2008)!

I inked up the stamp in VersaMark and used black embossing powder to create my dark silhouette. Embossing will resist any ink I use on my background later. (However, my husband didn’t seem to like the black embossing, so maybe I’ll try StazOn next time!)

To create the sun rays in the background, I cut up triangles from a Post-it tag (sticky all over the sheet), and placed in a radial pattern around my image. I made sure I picked a center point for the triangles, so it looked like the rays were emanating from the same spot (we only have one sun!).

I grabbed my sponge dauber, and rubbed color into the open areas. This is why I used the special Post-its: if I used the regular ones with adhesive just on one end, I would have to hold them down while I color, and that’s just no fun! But, Super Sticky means SUPER sticky, so peel from Whisper White carefully! (how do I know…?) 🙂

Before I removed the masks, I sponged in a little Tangerine Tango close to where the triangles met. This gives a little depth to the color. Plus, sun rays are usually more red along the horizon before it turns yellow (right?).

I used So Saffron for the card base, instead of Daffodil Delight, to keep the colors of the card soft, as if viewing light right as sunrise. I added a mat of Peach Parfait for some soft orange color, and to help pick out the Tangerine Tango.

I decided to pick a sentiment from a different stamp set. I thought the one I used fit perfectly! I stamped with Peach Parfait, in keeping with the soft color scheme. A Marina Mist scallop oval backs the sentiment as a little color contrast, and as a hint of sky.

P.S. – Did you notice that I changed my blog theme/layout again? Someone (who goes by the initials M.O.M.) was having a hard time seeing links, etc. I found this pretty theme with a large font. Links will show up as a nice contrast-y light orange, like this link to my online store. Hope you like it (although I miss the cool header photo from the last template… have to find a good replacement!).

Leave a Reply

