Pesky Patterns, Part 4

Oh, I am on a roll here! Are you sick of the Sweet Shop Specialty DSP yet? (If not, better hurry, the Occasions Mini ends on April 30…)

I am so much on a roll, that I came up with this particular card all BY MYSELF! Well, mostly. I took elements I saw from different cards, and pulled them all together to make this card.

Stamp set: Perfectly Penned

Ink: Island Indigo

Paper: Soft Suede, Pool Party, Naturals White, Sweet Shop Specialty DSP (Occasions Mini)

Accessories: Adorning Accents Edgelits (Occasions Mini), Adorning Accents textured impressions folders (Occasions Mini), Island Indigo baker’s twine (Occasions Mini), Petite Pennants builder punch, Rhinestones Basic Jewels, Stripes textured impressions folder

This came out cute, did it not? After deciding on using the Petite Pennants builder punch, the card came together rather quickly (the hardest part was choosing what to show in each pennant). I pulled the idea of the row of pennants from a swap card I got from Janine (which reminds me of a sample from Stampin’ Up! using Turtle & Co). I got the idea of the shaped and embossed edge from a card by Mary Brown (I CASEd that card, but I’m saving the result for another day).

Adding the Stripes embossing to the Naturals White piece seemed a natural to add interest to an otherwise plain part of the card (Mary used Houndstooth, which I didn’t think coordinated with this project). Note that the folder is not wide enough for a 5-1/2″ wide panel. I had to run my cardstock twice through the Big Shot (you may notice the seam).

I haven’t used this sentiment set for a while, and I’m glad I dug it up (I practically forgot about it!). I wanted something different from what I used on the other cards, and I really love how each card looks a little different. I wanted a large-ish sentiment on there; a small one would have gotten lost or looked strange on a punched shape.

So, these projects were fun and useful: not only am I finding ways to use my paper stash, but I’m using more of my stamps! (or is that just part of just doing projects?!?) 🙂

Leave a Reply

