April Demo Swap

Here’s the card I made to swap at our demonstrator group meeting last Monday. It does use a retiring stamp (retiring stamps go away on May 31). I am sad about it retiring, but not really surprised. I had used it because it lends itself well to the technique I used.

Here is my card:

Stamp: Fine Flourish (retiring May 31)

Ink: Bashful Blue Classic, Not Quite Navy marker, Lucky Limeade marker

Paper: So Saffron, Marina Mist, Whisper White (smooth and textured)

Accessories: Blossom punch (Occasions Mini), Pear Pizzazz seam binding (retiring May 31), Blossom Bouquet triple layer punch, Twitterpated buttons (Occasions Mini), Perfect Polka dots textured impressions folder, Mini glue dots, Stampin’ dimensionals

Phew! Quite a list of accessories, although it didn’t seem that way when I was putting everything together.

Did you notice that I used mostly colors from Subtles? Not what I have been choosing recently. However, it was nice to have a break from Brights and In Colors!

I used the negative of the Blossom punch to frame my stamped image. I saw a card like this on Stampin’ Connection (a demonstrator-only share site), although that demonstrator used DSP in the opening (and probably a different button). To create the multi-colored stamped image, I first inked up the Fine Flourish with my Bashful Blue Classic Ink pad. Before stamping, I took my two markers and thumped in places I wanted extra color. I think the “true” thumping technique says to do it randomly, but I didn’t like that look. Plus, when I did it “randomly” my color ended up in spots that were hidden! 🙂 Thumping, to me, meant to add color to the stamp by tapping the side of the wide end of the marker against the stamp, rather than drawing with the tip. Subtle difference, but there you go!

In case you’re wondering, the punched layer is 3-1/4″ square. If you slip the cardstock in all the way into the punch, centering left-to-right, you’ve got a centered shape!

I was the last to swap, and I was giggling to myself by then. Why? Because two others did something similar … they punched a shape out of a layer instead of using the actual punched shape. Here are their cards:

Kim’s card (she used MDS for the DSP)

Debbie’s card (she stamped the circle with dots to make it look like a brad!)

Back to the retiring stamp… At least I got some good use out of this stamp. I like that it’s a flourish background, and its size is good to use as a focal point. It’s also symmetrical, which may or may not be to your liking! We used it last year at a workshop to do stamp kissing. We used it off-center, and added a rhinestone accent to the center circle. Let me see if I can dig up a copy of that one to show…

A great stamp … hoping to a just-as-exciting one come June!

Leave a Reply

