A CASE of a Cute Purse

No, I don’t mean a whole carton of them! Haha! πŸ™‚ That’s CASE – Copy And Share Everywhere / Everything!

I saw a project on Stampin’ Connection (a demonstrator-only share site), posted by Kristine Moosman, and I had to copy it immediately, it was so cute! (Sorry, I didn’t seem to take a full view pic for some reason.)

Front view:

Stamps: none

Ink: None

Paper: Poppy Parade, Everyday Enchantment DSP (SAB)

Accessories: Petite Purse Bigz L die (Sneak peek), Everyday Enchantment brads (SAB), Dotted Scallop Ribbon border punch, Scallop Oval punch, Brights brads

Came out so awesome!

NOTE: There is just over a week left of Sale-a-bration, so now is the time to get more of the wonderful (matchy-matchy) DSP, brads, and organza ribbon! I will certainly miss this collection.

And, where is the die from? Haven’t seen it before? Well, because you probably haven’t! This die will be NEW in the upcoming 2012-2013 Annual Catalog. But, in April, Stampin’ Up! is having a sneak peek in which you can get this die plus a set of coordinating ribbon, DSP, stamps, fabric, fabric-covered brads, and a stencil. (The flyer can be found here.) Hopefully, I’ll have more samples of the coordinating products as we get closer to April 1. And, don’t forget to visit my online store to pick one of these dies up for yourself after April 1. πŸ™‚

Since chocolate is ever-so-important, as well as the capacity of any treat box, I’ll have to say that this little purse will hold 3 Andes mints (Valentine version). I just broke out my Easter candies, so I can tell you it also holds one mini Twix, one Tootsie Roll, and one Dove Dark Chocolate egg. (Guess what everyone’s getting at work?)

To embellish the little purse flap, punch out a scallop oval. Glue behind the flap, then add a brad. The original person used cardstock, but I thought I’d use the leftover DSP from die-cutting the purse. I think the cardstock works better, because the Poppy Parade has more contrast. Stampin’ Up! showed us a version using the Dotted Scallop Ribbon border behind the flap, but this is WAY easier!

The purse handle was lined with Dotted Scallop Ribbon border in Poppy Parade. I made my strip 6″ long, added the die-cut handle to my strip where it would line up well with the pattern, then trimmed excess cardstock. I attached it to the purse with a tiny bit of Sticky Strip before adding a brad on each end. (Small fingers are a plus at this step!)

The little border on the bottom of the purse is a Dotted Scallop Ribbon border, again in Poppy Parade, cut in half lengthwise. I used a 8-1/2″ strip and it was just about perfect. I adhered it using a thin line of Tombow Mono Multi. To make it easy, I did one side at a time.

Totally Cute!

Are you like me? As I was adding the brads, I was thinking “How come I don’t use these???” Must be the hoarder in me. I have to start using up all the cute little doo-dads! (how many times can I say “cute” in one post?!?) I mean, don’t they do better on projects, rather than sitting in the little (cute!) bins on my desk? πŸ™‚

Some tips for you, in using the Petite Purse Bigz L die:

  • In picking a DSP to make the purse, I would suggest staying away from patterns with stripes and obvious lines. As you can see, the edges are tapered, so some of the folds will cause different panels to be “off grain”. If you want the purse flap to be directional, you’ll have to carefully line up your DSP that way, or add a second piece later.
  • You only need two strips of adhesive to hold the purse together, which is cool. I would suggest cutting Sticky Strip in half, lengthwise. The flap is not quite 1/4″ wide. 😦
  • DSP seems to work better; makes the folds crisper. If you must use cardstock, I suggest textured cardstock.

Hurray, and have fun!

Leave a Reply

