Cute, But Empty!

A quick post, showing a project I made last night. This was based on a project I recently saw on a Control Freaks blog hop (which stamper…? Oh, Lee Ann Greff made this in Pretty in Pink.)

It’s an Easter basket … but I’m warning you, it’s empty! (did someone get to the treats first?)

Stamps: none

Ink: none

Paper: Very Vanilla textured

Accessories: Matchbox Bigz XL die, Lace Ribbon border punch, Dotted scallop ribbon border punch, Everyday Enchantment ribbon (SAB)

(WHOA! The depth of field is really short today! Sorry for the partially blurry pic!)

Very, very cute, isn’t it? I like the touch of the sheer ribbon. (Psst .. only 9 more days to get Sale-a-bration items!!!) Makes it look spring-y, and yet fancy! Pure genius, whoever put this into this year’s SAB offerings!

So, how to make this…pretty simple. Make a matchbox bottom. Of course, this part should be really simple, given we have the die! BUT, since I’ve gotten a new Big Shot (aka Weasel II, who is the silent type, go figure), I have to re-do my shim recipes. Sigh. But, I digress…

Okay, you’ve got your matchbox bottom all assembled. Punch the Lace Ribbon from a strip of cardstock (I say make it at least 10 inches long). Weave your ribbon in the convenient holes (I made sure the ribbon went behind the flower motifs). I left the last flower un-woven on one end of the strip, so that I could take the ribbon from the other end of the strip and weave it in when I glued down the strips.

Working one side at a time (I started with the end that had ribbon to the edge), add small dots of Tombow Mono Multi to the back of the lace ribbon strip and adhere the ribbon to the matchbox. When you get to the last side, weave the other ribbon through before sticking down this side.

Tie ribbon into a nice bow!

Punch a strip of cardstock with the dotted scallop ribbon border punch (I made mine 5-1/2″ or 6″, can’t remember). Attach on the inside.

Fill basket with treats and you’re done! (I skipped this last step, because, um, I haven’t opened up the Easter candy yet…)

Well, what are you waiting for? Get ready for Easter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

