Many-Layered Poppin’ Pastels

Oh, boy, does that give you an idea of what I did? 🙂

We’ll ignore the many layers for now. First, what is Poppin’ Pastels? Essentially, you stamp an image with VersaMark and color with chalks/pastels. As you color, it’s as if the image is magically revealed. Hence, the name. If you want to see a tutorial, Splitcoast Stampers has one here.

So, first, the picture of the card and then we’ll chat, okay?

Stamps: Fresh Vintage (SAB), Petite Pairs

Ink: VersaMark, Poppy Parade

Paper: Calypso Coral, Poppy Parade, Very Vanilla (textured), Soft Suede, Everyday Enchantment DSP (SAB)

Accessories: Stampin’ Pastels, Neutrals brads, Blossom Bouquet triple layer punch, Stampin’ dimensionals

Isn’t the image soft-looking? A bit different from a purely stamped image. It’s as if we’re looking at the image through a diffuser.

This was my first attempt at the Poppin’ Pastels technique, and I was hooked! (Well, actually, this image was the second try, but this is the first crafting session in which I tried!) It does take a bit of patience to color each portion of the image … partly because it’s hard to see the ink and partly because I didn’t want to smudge anything.

To apply the pastels, I found it easiest to get a cotton swab, add chalk to the end, and pounce onto the image. YOU DON’T WANT TO RUB. Really. As I was cleaning up the first image I colored, I rubbed over the image and ended up with a bald spot. I took off color AND the VersaMark, so I couldn’t fix it by adding more color. (I know the tutorial says to use daubers and you can rub; maybe you’ll just have to try it and see what works best for you.)

In case you’re wondering, I used Cajun Craze and Wild Wasabi. There are no In Color pastels, so I chose these to coordinate with the In Colors in the DSP.

So, now, onto the overall card. I wanted to do a card with lots of layers, again. Not all designs are monochromatic, so I tried to pick patterns with different sizes and motifs. (For example, you may not want all your papers to be medium-sized flowers; a mix of small, medium, and large flowers won’t clash as much, or choose flowers, stripes, and small dots instead.)

I added the brads to the ends of the striped strip, because I felt like it needed an anchor on both ends.

The sentiment was an afterthought. I always seem to leave sentiments to the end, and can’t seem to figure out where to put them, and what shape it will be. In this case, I had just gotten the Petite Pairs set, and thought it would nicely fit 1) in the corner of the card and 2) in the smaller flower from the Blossom Bouquet triple layer punch. Perfect! I punched out the flower first, then stamped, since there’s no way to look at what you’re punching with this punch.

Leave a Reply

