A Roughed Up Card

At the get-go, I decided to go for the distressed look on this card. It sort of took on a life of its own after that! I am using some of the Everyday Enchantment DSP again, and combining it with the Creative Elements stamp set.

Stamp set: Creative Elements

Ink: Poppy Parade, Soft Suede, StazOn Jet Black

Paper: Naturals Ivory, Soft Suede, Poppy Parade textured, Whisper White textured, Newsprint Specialty DSP, Everyday Enchantment DSP (SAB)

Accessories: Gold Brads, Everyday Enchantment Ribbon (SAB), Sanding Block, Sponge Dauber

I tore, I sponged, and I sanded! I love it!

The part I love the most was how I antiqued the gold brad. Do you see it? It’s normally quite shiny, which wouldn’t match this project AT ALL! So, I inked it up with StazOn and let it dry. Scuffed it up a bit with my sanding block, then inked up again. I let the ink dry a teensy bit, before rubbing it off. I’m not sure if I ended up staining the brad a bit with the ink, or if I just rubbed off enough of the finish. Either way, it now matches the rest of the project!

I normally stamp onto smooth Whisper White or Very Vanilla for a sharp, clean image. In this case, I liked the look of stamping onto textured cardstock. Gives it an instant vintage look, since it doesn’t have clean lines. I mean, wouldn’t it look weird to have scuffed, torn, and inked edges all over the card, and then have a sharp focal image? 🙂

Leave a Reply

