Swap Card for February

Hurray! We finally had a group meeting again. We had a blast catching up and discussing the changes (all good!) that are coming up for Stampin’ Up!

Here is the card I made for the swap

Stamps: None (oops!)

Ink (for sponging): Early Espresso, Basic Gray

Ink (for embossing): VersaMark

Markers (for cherry): Calypso Coral, Lucky Limeade

Paper: Lucky Limeade, Pool Party, Concord Crush, Sahara Sand, Neutrals and Subtles Patterns DSP stack, Sweet Shop DSP (Occasions Mini)

Accessories: Pool Party ruffled ribbon, Vanilla scented embossing powder (Occasions Mini), Sweet Shop Stickers (Occasions Mini, for inside), Cupcake builder punch, Ornament punch, Word Window punch, 2-3/8″ Scallop Circle punch, Stampin’ dimensionals

I just love embossing with the Vanilla scented embossing powder. Okay, it’s a bit messy, but I love how it makes the whole room smell so GOOD afterward. Especially if you emboss a whole bunch of items at a time.

To make the ice cream scoops, I cut the Vanilla dots DSP into strips of the right width to punch the cupcake top (1″). I covered the strips with VersaMark and then I added the embossing powder to the strips. I was working with 1″ x 6″ strips, so I temporarily adhered them to scratch paper to ink and apply the embossing powder to the whole strips without having to touch them after applying the powder. Quite messy. Next time, I would use longer strips and keep one end clean of ink and powder (so I can handle the strip with that edge) and forget about attaching to scratch paper.

Anyway, now that I had the strip embossed with the yummy smell (and shiny too!), I inserted it into the punch and punched out the cupcake tops. I was able to sponge some color around the edges; I wasn’t sure if it would rub off with the slick surface of the embossing powder.

The “strawberry” ice cream used the Pretty in Pink dots DSP. No embossing needed, since this one wasn’t scented.

For the ice cream bowl, I punched the top of the ornament, just wide enough to fit under a word window. You’ll only need the top 1/2″ or so… Sponge with Basic Gray before attaching.

When putting all the pieces together, I added the cupcake tops at different angles so the ice cream scoops didn’t all look the same.

Phew! I originally was going to stamp a cupcake as the focal image. I even prototyped the card this way. But, as I was looking at the DSP to do something else, the idea to make an ice cream bowl popped into my head. Then, I couldn’t help but use that for the focal image. Here’s the prototype in case you’re interested.

Stamps: Got Treats

The cupcake top was embossed, but not the bottom. I used Classic ink for both parts of the cupcake. In order to emboss the cupcake top, I inked the stamp (cupcake top only) with VersaMark first, then applied the Wisteria Wonder ink (from stamp pad). Then, I added Soft Suede Classic Ink to the bottom of the cupcake (NO VersaMark). After stamping, wait a bit for the Soft Suede to dry, then apply the embossing powder. The powder will only stick to the cupcake top! Really! (I was skeptical, even though multiple sources talked about this technique). If I wanted one of the 40 standard colors for the cupcake top, I could have used Craft Ink instead…

Leave a Reply

