September Newsletter Project

Yes, quite a bit late this month…

I’m showing a card made with the new Silver Glimmer (glitter) paper from the Holiday Mini Catalog that went live at the beginning of this month. This paper is super sparkly and really just says WOW! We got to see it in person during Convention and it really did sparkle in a way that the red one does not. I mean, the red one is sparkly, but the silver one really stands out. I thought it might have been the bright lights of the convention center, but it turns out it is just as awesome at home in “real” lighting.

A Stampin’ Up! employee said (can’t remember if it was on a main stage presentation or at the demo booth) that they looked at different “silvers” and ultimately chose this one. Who would have thought there is more than one silver color, huh?

Anyway, onto the card.

Stamp set: Easy Events

Ink: Always Artichoke

Paper: Cherry Cobbler, Very Vanilla, Frostwood Lodge DSP (Holiday Mini), Silver Glimmer paper (Holiday Mini), Red Glimmer paper

Accessories: Crop-o-dile (for punching mini circles), Blender pen, 2-3/8″ scallop circle punch, 1-3/4″ circle punch, Real Red 1/8″ taffeta ribbon

See, doesn’t it just sparkle? (Okay, maybe it’s hard to tell from just a picture… those of you on my mini catalog mailing list will know, though, since I sent you a card with some of this shiny stuff on it!)

I wanted the Silver shiny stuff as the frame for my focal image. I also wanted to include the red sparkly stuff to enhance my stamped image. Pretty cool… and so easy. This was a quick card to put together. Honestly, the hardest part was getting the ribbons to line up.

As far as using the glittery stuff, I’ve got a few tips:

  • If you’re gluing the glimmer paper on top of another cardstock, I recommend Tombow Mono Multi. It may slide a bit, so be careful; the backing paper is slick. Once the glue dries, it WILL stick, and is stronger than SNAIL or the 2-way glue pen.
  • If you’re gluing something on TOP of the glimmer paper, I suggest using Mini Glue dots or Sticky Strip. (I used mini glue dots to adhere my stamped image onto the scallop circle in the card above.) Seriously. I’ve tried the Tombow, but because you need a lot, and the paper does not absorb much moisture, it takes FOREVER and may not bond properly. So, use the non-wet sticky stuff.
  • If you’re punching the glimmer paper, it DOES work. I mean, you can see the scallop circle on my card. BUT, make sure you sharpen your punch after every 5 punches or so. This glittery stuff is thick and rough, and will dull your punch if you don’t take care of it.

Order some today, and have fun! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

