Wedding Season

I don’t know why it is said that June is a popular month for weddings. At work, there are quite a few people in and out this month due to multiple weddings. There are also a couple in our family this year, too, all in August.

Since one of our Convention stamps sets had a wedding stamp, I thought I’d try to make a wedding card.

And, if my relatives are reading this, don’t worry. This is NOT the card I made for next week! (That one came out WAY cooler, and of course I didn’t take a picture of it!)

Stamp set: Easy Events, Best Friends Forever

Ink: Pool Party, Regal Rose, Basic Black, Lucky Limeade

Paper: Pool Party, Whisper White, Shimmery White

Accessories: Scallop Squares Duo Bigz, Decorative label punch, Basic jewels pearls, Shimmer Paint Frost White, Stamping sponges, Blender pens, Smooch Top Coat Illuminate

I was going for a monochromatic theme, plus shimmer. I ended up mixing Whisper White and Pool Party as the two colors on the card. I like how the branch from Best Friends Forever can be used as a generic flourish for a background. To soften up the image, I stamped off onto my grid paper before stamping onto my project.

The shimmery square under the main stamped image is done in a combination of the Faux Mother of Pearl + Faux Silk techniques. I pounced shimmer paint onto tissue paper using a stamping sponge (most people suggest crinkled plastic wrap, but I like the sponge better), and backed the tissue paper with Pool Party cardstock for the Faux Mother of Pearl technique. The Faux Silk technique comes in when I crumpled the tissue paper prior to adhering it to the cardstock. A glue stick is great for this technique: you can get all the way into the edges, which is really important, and it doesn’t dry right away, giving you time to smoosh the tissue paper down.

The final little shimmery detail: I painted the birdie wings with the Smooch Top Coat.

Leave a Reply

