August Newsletter Project

This is the card I included in this month’s newsletter.

I came home from Convention quite inspired to play with our stamp sets and the projects they gave to us. There is usually a Make and Take session. The projects this year were quite different: a few nice and simple cards and a handful of 3D items. PLUS, they gave us an extra packet called “Workshop in a Bag”. More projects for us to try that we can immediately use in a workshop. What’s more, there were SUPPLIES to make the projects (including a workshop Make and Take AND a hostess gift). How cool is that? I just LOVE Stampin’ Up!

I took one of the ideas for the hostess gift and made it into my own. That’s the inspiration for this project.

Stamp set: Easy Events, Good Grid

Ink: Basic Black, Lucky Limeade, Calypso Coral, Pool Party, Island Indigo, Wisteria Wonder

Paper: Lucky Limeade, Island Indigo, Whsiper White

Accessories: Very Vanilla 1/8″ taffeta ribbon, Jewels Basic Rhinestones, Blender pen, Stamp-a-ma-jig

See, I thought it would be fun to stamp the flower stamp (minus the sentiment) in a row as a cute flower card.

Did you also notice that this card uses all of the new (2011) In Colors? Usually, blender pens give a much softer look when used for coloring. I realized after I was done that my blender pen was DRY! It still looked good, so I kept the stamping. The blender pen went right into the trash after this card, though. Don’t think that blender pens are duds, however. This pen has been around for about three years.

Finally, I added the Good Grid stamp as the background on the card base. I didn’t have any DSP that worked well. (I haven’t bought much of the new DSP yet — but this month is a good time to pick a few. See the flyer here for this month’s promotion.) I decided to do some stamping, and thought a grid would be good because you plant flowers in rows, and sometimes you use grid paper to plan a garden. Well, in any case, I like it, so there! 🙂

I have to mention that I was SO HAPPY to get the Good Grid stamp at Convention. It was part of our kit to make the Village of Cuteness project (pics to follow … eventually). This was an optional project, but it was totally fun and totally worth it. I wanted to get the Good Grid stamp anyway — I guess being the engineer and all. Reminds me of the days when we used grid paper for homework (not sure why it became “the thing to do”). We also got the Calendar Alphabet and Numbers stamp set in our kit, which is awesome because I decided that I’ll finally get it this year. Hurray!!

Now, if they had only included the Distressing Essentials kit, hahaha! I swear that little kit showed up a lot this year at Convention. Stampin’ Up! sure knows how to get us excited about something … I just had to get it once I got home. I only used the stamp block so far, but I’m totally loving this product, too!

Okay, well, enough babbling for now … and off to do more crafty things!

Leave a Reply

