Convention 2011 Swap Card #2

Here’s another card I made for general swapping at Convention. Not quite sure what the look of this card was supposed to be… I suppose something nature journal-ish? It’s not vintage…

Stamp set: French Foliage, Nature Walk

Ink: Early Espresso (Classic & Craft), Crumb Cake, Soft Suede, Riding Hood Red, So Saffron, VersaMark

Paper: Early Espresso, Naturals Ivory, Crumb Cake, First Edition Specialty DSP

Accessories: Clear stampin’ emboss powder, Sponge Daubers, Vintage trinkets, Aqua painters

Did you see? My little detail on the card? It’s the Vintage trinkets: I attached the safety pin to the card using the button brad. Oh so cute! It rotates to hold the side flap down (this is a Joy Fold card).

I even have a panel on the inside to hide the legs of the brad. Here’s a look at the inside.

I generally only make card fronts, but this one needed to be a full card in order to show the cool closure. This would be really great to use on a scrapbook (that’s where I got the idea from: a scrapbooking class I took years ago; I found the project while cleaning up recently).

I added clear embossing of the bird and the egg images. Not sure why. When I was playing with this stamp set earlier, I liked the look it gave to use clear embossing powder over the image stamped in craft ink. Plus, it made coloring a little easier.

I like to match the page of DSP with the image I’m using. Alas, there was nothing appropriate to birds. So, I had to settle for using the page that goes from Juniper to King Salmon. Heh. At least it’s a nature discussion, so it matches, right? I thought it was a better choice than butterflies or cherry blossoms, anyway (some of the subjects of the other papers in the DSP set).

Leave a Reply

