July Newsletter Project

This is the card that is in this month’s newsletter. I wanted something seasonal… and since I missed the holiday (by just a few days, right?), I picked a summer theme.

Stamp set: Great Friend (retired, oops!), You’re a Gem

Ink: Soft Suede

Paper: Soft Suede textured, Pool Party, Very Vanilla, Crumb Cake, Melon Mambo textured, Rich Razzleberry, Neutrals Patterns DSP Stack, In Color 2010 Patterns DSP Stack

Accessories: Petite Pennants punch (new!), Cupcake Builder punch, Matchbox Bigz XL die, Sponge dauber

You’d better eat your cones before the treat melts on you. See, it’s already dripping! 🙂

I built the cone out of two different punches, the Petite Pennants punch (yay!) and the Cupcake builder punch. The drop is also from the Cupcake Builder punch; it’s the flame for the candle!

To make the cones, I scored it in two directions (I used my stylus and a scoring board, but you can use your bone folder and your blade-style trimmer). I then sponged some Soft Suede to bring out the scoring. Pretty tasty looking, huh? Want a closeup?

I really love this layout, and what the shaped sentiment piece really does. Um, unfortunately, I used a frame that is from a retired stamp set! I’m usually good about only showing current stuff, but I guess this one stamp set got passed over when I was cleaning house! If you wanted to reproduce this frame, you could just doodle around the edges (the die-cut piece is from the Matchbox die).

Leave a Reply

