A Little Blue

Phew! We’re going to add a new color into the current card mix. It’s still a bit mono-chromatic, but with some of that promised blue thrown in. I finally squeezed in some crafting time around work. I found the inspiration on Stampin’ Connection the other day (it’s the Stampin’ Up! demonstrator-only message boards). I spent the whole afternoon looking through posted cards and messages, and came across someone’s take on a recent challenge there.

Stamp set: Strength & Hope (Summer Mini), Just Believe

Ink: Bashful Blue, Concord Crush, StazOn Jet Black

Paper: Naturals White, Concord Crush, Whisper White, Bashful Blue

Accessories: Flower Garden textured impressions folder (Summer Mini), 2-1/2″ circle punch (carryover), Modern label punch, Styled Silver Hodgepodge hardware, Whisper White 3/8″ taffeta ribbon, Neutrals brads, Stampin’ dimensionals, Sponge daubers

Do you like the colored image? It’s pretty similar to the card that inspired this. I first stamped the image onto Whisper White with StazOn. I punched out the circle, then I sponged over with Bashful Blue and Concord Crush. I used a light and a dark to add a bit of dimension to the shading. I also kept the shading “weighted” to the left hand side (more color on the bottom toward the left than the right). For some reason, if it was centered at the bottom, it felt unbalanced. Maybe because most of the card elements are on the right hand side, that something drawing our eye to the left was needed? The inpiration card used brayering instead of sponging. I tried it, but I need to brush up on my technique; it was coming out too streaky.

The original sketch used a bow tied in the ribbon. I decided to use a ribbon slider from the Hodgepodge hardware instead. Why? Because I haven’t used the stuff in ages (see what rearranging your craft room will do?). Plus, I liked the little bit of shine it gave.

The original sketch used a flourish on the right hand side of the card, behind the sponged focal image. I do not have any large scroll stamps (both Baroque Motifs or Elements of Style have one and I have neither). After trying other options, I came up with the use of the embossing folder. I’m hoping that the “stem of flowers” theme help tie it with the focal image.

Other items used the sketch pretty closely: the butterfly at top left (although I used the butterfly stamped image from Strength & Hope instead of the Beautiful Wings embosslits) and the sentiment punched with the Modern Label punch.

I used Whisper White taffeta rather than a darker ribbon, so that there wasn’t too much contrast between it and the background of the card. If I did use a darker ribbon, it seemed to divide the card up, which I didn’t want. I wanted the focus on the butterfly, the focal image, and the sentiment (the three pieces with color, incidentally).

I’m not sure why I paired Bashful Blue with Concord Crush. Blue and purple? I guess I was trying to bring out the blue in the purple-ness of Concord Crush…

Leave a Reply

