Changing the Rectangle

I’m on a roll here! I showed you how you can change the Framed Tulips textured impressions folder to make a square frame. The NEW question is “can I make a skinnier rectangular frame?” The answer to this question is also YES!

You can use the same technique I showed you with the square frame to make the skinnier rectangle. I made my card 3″ x 5-1/2″.

Stamp set: For All You Do

Ink: Pear Pizzazz

Paper: Sahara Sand, Poppy Parade, Peach Parfait, Daffodil Delight

Accessories: Blossom Bouquet Triple Layer punch (Summer Mini), Itty Bitty Shapes punch pack, In Color Glimmer brads (carryover), Pear Pizzazz seam binding (carryover), Basic Jewels rhinestones, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Basically, what we have been doing is to keep the length of one edge of the design constant (either the 4-1/4″ edge or the 5-1/2″ edge), and changing the length of the other. In fact, who says we always have to decrease the size of one edge? We can apply the same technique to make one edge LONGER. (Sounds like another card in the works, doesn’t it?)

Of course, once we have our frame, it’s just a matter of decorating our card! I thought it would look fun to use the frame for a bunch of flowers created with the new punch. Do you like it? I had fun. I’ll talk more about tips to use it successfully.

Instead of freehand drawing the stem, or cutting cardstock, I decided to use the stem from For All You Do. It was the right dimension for the card, and goes well, I think. I just added a knot of seam binding to the bottom to balance out the top.

(Seam binding is still available, did you know? Check out the Write-ins page to the right to see a full list.)

Leave a Reply

