A Digital Card

I’ve been making a few digital scrapbook pages, so I wanted to see how easy it was to create a card digitally. I did this before when I was first learning My Digital Studio. But, I learned a few things since then and want to try the new way to do things.

I bought and downloaded the new Strength & Hope Digital Kit. (By the way, for each digital kit and stamp set sold until August 31, Stampin’ Up! will donate $2 to the Breast Cancer Research Foundation. This campaign will be active in all worldwide markets at the same time.)

Extras used: Basic Gray grosgrain ribbon, Baja Breeze textured cardstock (download), Basic Jewels rhinestones (download)

All other items (stamps and DSP) come from the Strength & Hope digital kit.

Do you like the vellum-like layer? I created it by adding a Whisper White layer at 25% opacity and layering my stamping at 50% opacity.

My butterfly image is actually two images that are layered. The bottom layer is in Early Espresso. The top layer is in Rose Red, and and is a teensy bit smaller and offset from the first.

Can’t wait to try something similar when the stamp set gets here!

I originally added a sentiment to the bottom layer, but ended up taking it off. I think it looks nicer with a “clean” bottom (don’t babies look and smell better that way, too?). 🙂

The other thing to mention: I created this card as an 8″ x 8″ scrapbook page. After exporting to JPEG format, I cropped it to its current size (don’t ask me what it is) in GIMP (a photo editor).

Leave a Reply

