April Swap Card

We had a Creative Ink meeting last night and here is my swap card. I didn’t attend (spending time with the hubby), although it would have been nice to see some I haven’t seen since last year!

At the last meeting, I showed a “flip card” that we made at my Mom’s workshop in March. I got requests for the template, so I thought I’d make my swap card using the template as well. That way, everyone got a sample to go along with the template! The theme was “Spring”, which was actually the hardest part of the swap.

Stamp set: Eastern Blooms, Vintage Vogue

Ink: Pink Pirouette Craft, Regal Rose, Regal Rose Craft, VersaMark, Blushing Bride marker, Melon Mambo marker, Soft Suede marker

Paper: Pink Pirouette, Soft Suede textured, Watercolor paper, First Edition DSP (Occasions Mini)

Accessories: Clear Stampin’ emboss powder

Phew! I sure went crazy on all of the techniques here. But, really, the hardest part was the theme!

The flowers on the side panels were stamped in Pink Pirouette craft ink and embossed with clear embossing powder. I thought it added some stability as well as bringing out the images.

The flowers on the center panel (in closed position) were stamped in Regal Rose craft ink and VersaMark, and embossed with clear embossing powder. The VersaMark flowers were sponged with Regal Rose classic ink after embossing. I wanted the two different coloring for the flowers, since that’s similar to the two types of flower colors I’ve been seeing on local trees.

Did you notice I used the sheets of First Edition DSP that corresponded to the Cherry Blossom? I thought that was a nice little addition.

Okay, now for the inside panel:

This is also a great little technique. You color your solid image with markers, spritz a bit, then stamp onto watercolor paper. The water on the stamp really softens the image to give a different look.

I’ll be putting pages in the How-To section for the Flip Card template as well as the Watercolor Look with markers.

Leave a Reply

