The Treats for Everyone Else

Here is the treat I made for the rest of the office (did you see the carrot I made earlier?).

I got a comment about the St. Patrick’s Day treat I gave out. I usually don’t give something for that “holiday”, but I found some spearmint Lifesavers (individually wrapped, of course), that I thought would be perfect. I attached it to a scallop circle cut from “contraband” designer cardstock, and gave it out that way.

So, the comment was: “Boy, these things are sure getting smaller!”

Wasn’t said to me, of course. I heard this through someone else.

Well, with that in mind, I got a little carried away with the candy for Easter. I thought, hopefully this holds them over until the later part of the year, when I pick up again for Halloween!

Stamp set: All Holidays

Ink: Melon Mambo

Paper: non-Stampin’ Up! cardstock

Accessories: Box #2 Bigz XL die, Large (1-3/4″ x 7/8″) oval punch, Polka dot ribbon (retired in Bermuda Bay, Crushed Curry, Melon Mambo), Egg-shaped confetti

Here’s what’s inside… a whole bunch of different treats. One of the items is something called Swedish Eggs. Basically it’s Swedish Fish (gummy fish), some in an egg shape. There were cute sayings on the packages like “Fish lay eggs too!” and “Why do bunnies have all the fun?”. 🙂

I attached the egg confetti using a hot glue gun. I finally broke down and got one. It sure is neat, but scary (it’s HOT!). I didn’t want to use glue dots (I think they would have showed through) or wet glue (doesn’t always stick to metal stuff). Whee! I was hoping to find an egg-shaped paper punch, but this worked out WAY better.

I originally was going to wrap ribbon around the whole box. Then, I realized that it’s not terribly practical for mass production, even on this scale (I made 47). I’ve learned over the past few years that the more you can prep and slap together (flat), the better. So, I came up with the idea to have a strip of ribbon behind the oval sentiment, and notch the ribbon ends. Cool, huh?

Leave a Reply

