March Newsletter Project

This is the project I included in the March newsletter. Yes, <shock>, I’m early for a change! I wanted to do that to remind everyone that there’s only 1 month left of Sale-a-Bration.

So, to celebrate Sale-a-Bration (heh), I included a Sale-a-Bration stamp set, plus I used some of the glass glitter.

Stamp set: Bliss (SAB)

Ink: Blushing Bride, Early Espresso, Pink Pirouette reinker

Paper: Naturals Ivory, Blushing Bride, Whisper White, In Color Patterns DSP Stack, Botanical Gazzette DSP (Occasions Mini)

Accessories: Champagne Glass Glitter (Occasions Mini), Springtime Vintage Big designer buttons (Occasions Mini), Linen thread, Wide (2″ x 1-3/8″) Oval punch, Champagne Mist Shimmer Paint, Paper Daisies, Crystal Effects

Doesn’t the glitter look so cool? It’s super easy to put on; I thought it would be harder. All I did was add a line of Crystal Effects along the edge of my focal point oval (put it onto the panel first). Then, sprinkle the glitter on. Tap off (gently) the excess and let dry about an hour. (Make sure you do this over a tray or piece of paper to catch the extra so you can put it back into your jar.)

I was also surprised at how well the “champagne” color matched Blushing Bride. Maybe it’s because I had the glitter since Convention (this was the jar we got from Prize Patrol at the closing session); the glass giitter apparently “ages” over time for a more vintage look.

I love how you can layer images from this stamp set…did you see the flourish I stamped “behind” the sentiment?

I’m not sure if you also noticed the Paper Daisy. It starts off white so you can make it any color that you need for your project. Instead of dipping it into water mixed with reinker, I did something with a little more sparkle. I created my own shimmer spray! Can you notice the sparkles?

I took a small spray bottle from the craft store (Mini Mister, if you want to know). This one makes a fine mist and doesn’t clog, so I like it. Also, it usually comes in a pack of 3 clear bottles, so you can see what color you made your spray, if you’re storing multiples.

To the Mini Mister, I added:

  • 10-12 drops of Pink Pirouette
  • Shimmer paint, added by dipping the sprayer tube into the jar twice
  • Rubbing alcohol, filled to about 1/4″ from the top of the sprayer bottom

Make sure you use regular rubbing alcohol (70% isopropyl alcohol), not 90-99%. Apparently, the Shimmer Paint is somewhat water soluble, so needs the extra water that’s in 70%. You’ll want to mix well so you don’t get clumps.

I’ll show you other uses for the home-made shimmer spray on my next project!

You may also notice that I inked around the edges, to add to the vintage look.

Leave a Reply

