Spring Swap Card

It’s been a week since we had our demonstrator meeting… it was sure nice to see part of the group again! Some ladies could not make it, but seeing what everyone had to share, and talking about products that not all of us have played with…fun!

So, the “theme” of our swap was something from the current Mini Catalog or Sale-a-Bration. It was so hard to decide… eventually, I settled on using some of the fabric and matching buttons. Oh, and other things sprinkled in. ๐Ÿ™‚

Stamp set: Sense of Time

Ink: Not Quite Navy, VersaMarker

Paper: Baja Breeze, Naturals White, Springtime Vintage (Occasions Mini)

Accessories: Springtime Vintage fabric (Occasions Mini), Springtime Vintage Big Designer buttons (Occasions Mini), Linen thread, Framed Tulips textured impressions folder (Occasions Mini), Baja Breeze seam binding (Occasions Mini), Stampin’ pastels, Stamp-a-ma-jig

Isn’t that fun? Can you see all of the little details? ๐Ÿ™‚

I made fabric flowers, and put the smaller of the Big Designer Buttons in the middle. I didn’t have enough Rose Red buttons, so I also use the Pear Pizzazz buttons. I tied some Linen thread on the buttons so that they didn’t look so bare.

I embossed my sentiment panel with the Framed Tulips, but I only wanted a border (this was an idea I saw on Patty Bennett’s blog a couple of months back…except it was on a tag). I also wanted to highlight the border (make it stand out more) and emphasize the tulips, so I used a type of “popping pastels” technique. I used my VersaMarker to ink up the tulips. I then rubbed Baja Breeze pastel over it. The VersaMarker ink grabs the pastel; that’s the only place the color will go (although you can get a dusting from stray powder, it’s not very obvious). The VersaMarker ink will also help to set the pastel, so you don’t have to worry about using a sealant.

Do you want to see how I made the flowers? I’ll post that tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

