A Royal Card

Here’s a card that just created itself over time. 🙂 I wanted to use this particular stamp with the crown from Tiny Tags. I found a tag shape that I liked… and just kept building elements. You’ll notice that it’s an unusual color combination as well.

Stamp set: You’re a Gem (Occasions Mini), Tiny Tags

Ink: Daffodil Delight, Rich Razzleberry marker, Basic Black marker

Paper: Basic Gray textured, Rich Razzleberry, Whisper White, Sweet and Sour DSP

Accessories: Lots of Tags sizzlits set, Smooch Illuminate Top Coat, Basic Black satin ribbon, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ dimensionals

So, as I mentioned, I started with the tag. I cut one piece from Rich Razzleberry, and the other from Whisper White. I stamped my sentiment using the Stamp-a-ma-jig on the Whisper White piece, and cut off the outer portion along the perforations (you have to cut just inside to get a smooth curve).

Then, I thought, if this is for a queen, you need some kind of bling. That’s when I got the idea to “paint” the Smooch Top Coat along the outside of the Rich Razzleberry frame. Want a close up of this?

You know, I didn’t actually intend for the crown to be “sitting” right on top of the “Q”. But, that’s how it turned out!

Now, it was time to make the actual card. I thought the Rich Razzleberry (with the Smooch) was “toned down” enough to coordinate with Rose Red — and sure enough, it worked (the Color Coach, while a good tool, was surprisingly “silent” on a dynamic duo for Rich Razzleberry and I was on my own!). I thought this piece from the Sweet and Sour DSP was a good “queenly” pattern … then thought, “wouldn’t this look great with Basic Gray?” Sure enough, all three looked pretty good together.

From there, it was a matter of choosing the card side (3×6), orientation (portrait), and lay out the pieces.

The last touch was the addition of the ribbon. I was daydreaming about this combination (of the ribbon and the tag) on the way home from work. When I tried it, I thought it was just what the card needed! So, there it is!

Leave a Reply

